Join us in restoring the beauty of a historical building in Badolato, Italy

Country

Italie

Enregistré comme favori 128 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 9 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear volunteer
    We are Joel (27 from Switzerland) and Angela (24 from Hungary)

    As our interest grew for architecture, building and crafting with our own hands, in 2019 we embarked for our own workaway journey, hoping to learn about traditional building techniques. The trip led us to this unique mountain village in Calabria, where we were welcomed to a young communities’ life, it’s members soon became friend almost family. It is a village which’s natural slow pace allows new ways of connecting to nature, to fellow humans and mostly to yourself. As a beautiful coincidence, we found a magnificent ruin, which gave home to one of the largest fig tree of the village at that time. The surreal dream to work on such a building soon became our reality. And slowly evolved into the vision to create a cultural hot-spot for the village, which allows us to share our love for art and culture and bring back local craftsmanship into the town, creating our own workshop, and gathering space in form of an inner garden patio.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Bricolage et projets de construction

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This cultural exchange gives you the benefit to get an insight into a restoration, renovation of a traditional Mediterranean palazzo, which offers you the possibility to learn and contribute.

    - woodworking (recycling, upcycling the original wood found)
    - masonry (with natural shaped granite and antique bricks)
    -plastering (mainly with lime based mix)
    -metalwork. (welding)
    -floor laying/pouring
    and more

    In our free time, we like to create art. Currently we mainly do pottery with clay from a nearby beach, and sometimes mosaic with natural stone, starting with breaking it up to its pieces. Joel is a musician enjoying have jam sessions.

    We usually keep a rotation with cooking, which we find a fun and delicious way to get to know each other. For shorter periods, we had group lunch with other members of the community, which may also be the case during your visit.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We currently focus on bringing a section of the building into a habitable state, it involves window lintel exchange, plastering, electrical installation, plumbing, the construction of a bathroom and kitchen.
    We look for someone with experience in building, with a good sense for practical work. Based on your skill, more elaborate work can be done.

    In the first two years by the collaboration with workaway the devoted help of volunteers, we have achieved: restoring damaged wall sections, the reconstruction of a complete floor, the base layer of our patio and workshop floor, an entire roof with a raised stone wall. Amongst practical support we also received guidance in structural engineering from volunteers.

    It is preferred if you are able to stay from a month.
    There is opportunity for long term stay in case of mutual interest for collaboration.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Hungarian: Courant
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    For those of you interested in learning Italian, there is opportunity for interaction with the locals, whose are really the characters making this village. And in case you are already an Italian speaker, we would look forward to improve with your help. (There are german families living in the village whom we are in daily contact with)

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    When there is only one volunteer sometimes we host them in our flat, though for longer period of time we organise separate apartment.
    It is among our plans to have a shared place for volunteers who participate in the different projects of our community.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Picking you up from the nearby airport or bus/train station, we obviously happy to do.
    --------
    Certainly our day to day routine is not only working, we enjoy weekends and discovering the area around us, unknown beaches, hiking in the forest or just a lazy day with delicious gelato.

    (We would like to have a phone call before accepting volunteers to receive a better understanding of each)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 336737368927