1 / 5

Join our home, help with gardening and enjoy beautiful surroundings of Auckland, New Zealand



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Kia ora, My husband and I have a comfortable house with a beautiful view overlooking the Waitemata harbour and the Waitekere west coast hills. My husband is an associate professor at Massey University and I am a photographer. We live an active outdoor life, mountain biking, hiking, swimming, etc and are passionate about the environment. We eat plant-based foods, so would welcome vegetarians or vegans into our home.
    We have travelled extensively around the world and have been living in New Zealand for 25 years (originally from South Africa). We know NZ well as we have travelled most of it, so can advise / suggest wonderful places for you to visit.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our home is in a semi rural area of outer Auckland, where we are very environmentally conscious. Learning about and caring for NZ native plants is part of our lives and we have been part of a community who have planted over 50,000 native trees over the last 15 years. We would love to share this knowledge with you.

  • Aide


    We live on an acre of land of which half of it is native bush. We are an active couple in our mid 60’s and trying to keep control of our garden and maintain the bush and are loosing the battle. We would love to have you come and help us with this: weeding, cutting back, pest plant control, tending our vegetable garden, lawn mowing and general gardening.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    In exchange we offer your own comfortable room, unlimited WiFi, and breakfast, lunch and dinner in return for 4 hours of help a day, or 2 hours early morning and 2 hours late afternoon as the heat of the day can be harsh at this time of the year. (We are flexible if you wish to work a full day to take a day off).
    Ideally we are looking for a couple who can spend approximately 2 weeks with us, but we can accommodate 2 friends if necessary.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is no public transport where we live, so a bonus would be your own transport. If not, we are happy to drive you into Albany to the bus station which is about 8km away. We are 1km up the hill from the Waitemata Harbour (wharf, no beach) and 2.5km away from Sanders Reserve for walks and swims (small beach) at high tide. The shops are about 7km from home and the east coast beaches are about 15-20min drive; the west coast beaches about 35-40min drive. Auckland central city is about 30min drive from us.
    As mentioned, we eat plant-based foods, so would welcome vegetarians or vegans into our home. We are also non-smokers and would expect the same from helpers.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have unlimited fibre internet, so no problem with linking up with that.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have space for you to park your small camper van or fitted out van on our property. If you have a large motorhome, it can be parked on the roadside.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 335466782878

Feedback (1)



We can offer a relaxed happy home in Nelson, New Zealand
Help me around my home and garden while exploring New Zealand, Methven