Come help in a beautiful and very peaceful home near Daylesford, Victoria, Australia!



Enregistré comme favori 7 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    Hello! We are Clare, Mackie and Tarker the dog. We live in a beautiful and very peaceful home near Daylesford, Victoria with our goats, chickens, ducks and cows. We also own Daylesford Cider, which consists of apple orchards, a cellar door and tavern.

    We are looking for a couple with their own transport (this is non negotiable as there is no public transport!) to come live with us on our farm. There are a number of jobs on our list, like building a new goat shelter, fixing fences, planting veggies & trees, looking after the animals and occasionally lending a hand at Daylesford Cider, depending on the season. In return for 6 hours a days work, we offer board / accommodation, nice meals out, having a drink or two after work and plenty of free time to explore our fabulous region.

    Clare is originally from the UK and Mackie is Australian. We are in our early 30's, both love travelling, good food, nature and animals!

    Daylesford and it’s surrounding areas are known as the spa capital of Australia. We are 114km from Melbourne (1.5 hour car ride) and within easy driving distance to parts of the Great Ocean Road and the Grampians. It’s very picturesque and quiet here with lots of nature and wildlife!

    We’ve had backpackers stay with us for 4 years now and love the cultural exchange and meeting new people.

    Please also note - we do not have WiFi, so we recommend having a Telstra package on your phone which works well. Other networks struggle outside of cities.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We want you to enjoy your stay with us as much as possible! Clare travelled WA on similar exchanges which she loved and wants to make sure others have as great an experience. You will see how small businesses run, what is involved on a farm and also at a cider farm (season depending). Even if you are not working at the cider farm, we can show you around and teach you all about how to make cider, maybe doing a few home-brew experiments to enjoy!

    You’ll also learn about looking after animals on our small farm and what life is like out of the big cities in Australia.

    We will give you the best advice and tips for going away on your days off so you can really make the most of the great location!

  • Aide


    The work that you will do will vary depending on what you enjoy and what you are best at! We need different types of help at different times of the year also, as living on a farm is very much seasonal. Also living on a farm means that there are always on going projects and fun things to get involved with.

    Helping out with the goats, chickens and ducks as well as some housework / helping out with shared meals is all part of the package. We love to learn new recipes off others, and share our own. Some work in the cellar-door may also be required too at peak times, so having an RSA is useful.

    Ongoing projects around the house include: building a shelter for the goats, renovating the house and the old stables and looking after the vegetable patch.

    Work can be quite physical and sometimes long hours at a time, so we require physically fit people who are willing to get their hands dirty and work hard! We balance out those days with other less taxing ones, and you’ll be well rewarded too!

    You will work 5 days a week and will have 2 days off - we can’t guarantee they will be the same days off every week as every week varies so much in terms of tasks and what is on the agenda.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You’ll be staying in our two bedroom house, with your own room, sharing the bathroom.

    All food and board will be provided for, and we eat a well rounded, healthy diet and good quality food. Ideally alternate cooking for each other at dinner times is nice.
    If you help out at the cidery, you’ll be eating lunch at the restaurant (no charge) or you are welcome to make your own lunch at home to take in.

    We have lots of cider too!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are so many great places to visit on your days off! It’s all about nature here with lots of walking and sights to be seen. There are plenty of dining experiences to be enjoyed, wineries & spa options also!
    The great ocean road is easily accessible as are the beautiful Grampians. Melbourne too is not far away, neither is Geelong, Bendigo or Ballarat! Neighbouring gold rush towns are also worth a visit and there’s lots of great rock climbing too.

    You will need your own transport as there is no public transport around here - this isn’t negotiable!

    We are very open and trusting people and we enjoy having backpackers to stay with us as we were once those backpackers!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 333155363246