Fix up and improve the Ladybug's house in Lurais, France



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 71 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    ***I am going to be working in a bar in july / august during this summer, we're not going to have as many workawayers as usually, also my shift will be mid-afternoon till the evening, so it is possible that you will be in autonomy during this time, send me a message so we can discuss it***

    Please be welcome in the Ladybug's House, here in Lurais, which I would call the Workawayers lair.

    This house was my grandparent's, and it has been empty for almost 15 years. Unemployed at the moment I've decided to accept the challenge of taking care of it and making something great out of it.

    We're living together since early November, the workawayers coming in and out of the house, and myself.
    It seems like some kind of South American "hospedaje", or some "Spanish Flat", lots of people from different parts of the world, sharing a house and so much more.

    The project here is to make the house rejuvinated and clean again, but also to create a bad-ass garden, space for playing music, have people around, repair as needed, keep adding souls and energies in the house. Feel free to share your ideas, I'm open for everything.

    Everyday we try to have the day starting at 2pm (except for week-ends, obviously, and some special days off too), and then we stop pretty much when we're fed up. After work we have some drinking nights, a lot a movie nights, some book club times... We share chores, cooking, cleaning, and everything as if we were room-mates : I just ask everyone to be respectful with the house and my belongings.

    I prefer to have "young people" (up to 35/40yo is fine - if you acknowledge that we sleep late, and wake up late, and enjoy ourselves during the almost-regular-drinking-nights) around the house, but don't feel excluded by reading this : you can always send me a message and see what happens.

    We go around the house from ripping wallpapers off the walls, to digging huge holes in the ground in order to start the garden, sometimes we're even just sorting out old objects and weird stuff... Chopping wood, painting the walls, moving furniture, repairing the plumbing, making stuff with wood.... There's a lot to do !

    I know the following is not in the spirit of Workaway, but since I'm out of a job right now, and the house is full, we ask everyone to share the cost of the groceries, there's a "grocery money jar" in the kitchen, people put money in it, and we make it work. Also to avoid spending too much money we try to make homemade food when we can : peanut butter, hummus, bread soon...

    We also exchange food recipes, nobody is cooking two nights in a row, we all try to cook every now and then : someone is the chef, and the little hands help to make it happen.

    From time to time we also have "cleaning days" : bathrooms, floors, kitchen, shared rooms, but also bedrooms.
    We don't have a working dishwasher (we used to, but he's dead now), so everyone has to do a little bit, and try to keep the house clean after using anything.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The area is really beautiful, we're in the center of the Parc de la Brenne, I can show you around : we try to go places during the weekend when we have enough cars, I love to go on "trek days" when I left the house for the day and go on walking around. We look for walks, lakes, forests, natural parks around, and we go there for adventure time.

    This place is like a travellers' refuge : filled with different languages, we try to have "french days" when we can speak a little bit, but everyone is sharing a little bit of their own : phrases, words, anything.

    During the cooking nights people love to share special food to them, dishes from their country sometimes, it's our favorite time of the day, food exchange !
    Some nights we speak for a long time about each culture, every one's life and experiences.

  • Aide


    We need help with small and big things around the house, creating and building a garden, emptying an attic, fixing a veranda, a lot of different "décorative" tasks : wallpaper, floors, walls, paint, varnishing....etc. And small other tasks such as cleaning, organizing the house...

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Every language interests me !

  • Hébergement


    The house is big, so we manage to fill it with 10 people max, some have rooms (when they're staying for a long time), some share the dorm, some sleep in the living room nearby the fire...
    I recommend people to take a sleeping bag with them, and if possible a pillow. We have matresses and wool blankets, but keep in mind that it's more like camping than hotel style.

    We only have one bathroom, but we try to make it work, everyone is carefull about using the hot water, and usually it's OK. We have a lot of towels, but you can bring your products.

    About the kitchen and meals, one is free to eat whenever one wants during the day, since we don't all wake up at the same time, but we try to eat dinner all together in the evening.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Movies night in the house are a thing, I also have all my nerdy video-game stuff (PC, Xbox, PS4), and some art materials (drawing, painting..).
    Outside the house a car is needed to go from village to village but we can find a way with my own car if needed. I can as well pick you up at the nearest station (Le Blanc).
    You can go climbing rocks, hiking in the Parc de la Brenne, go and visit of one the most beautiful villages of France : Angles sur l'Anglin, it's 7min away by car. There's a tourism office there, and they have a lot of papers about what to do and see in the area.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have WDSL into the house, and a large desk with electrical outlets. Also the wifi is good.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a courtyard to park vehicles, we manage to park our truck Renault Master, there's also the side of the road, in front the house, and a parking lot downtown if there's no option left (3min by foot).

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Send me a message and we will try to make it work.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3-4 h/jour, 5 j/sem

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)

N° de référence hôte : 328584763632