Enjoy nature and farm life with horses, dogs and cats without being stuck in the middle of nowhere, Hamburg, Germany

Country

Allemagne

Enregistré comme favori 249 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.07.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    128

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Preferably you can arrive on or before August 26th, get to know everything and you can stay at least till September 18th.

    Hello and welcome to our farm’s profile!

    Our farm is located just outside of the City of Hamburg and is home to our 2 large dogs Zuma & Anubis, our cat family Oreo, Cookie & Fluffy, our 4 horses Ebony, Bobbie, Lucky & Castello, our 4 rabbits Pumba, Fluffel, Anton & Honig and us. On our 12 acres property we have a little pond with fish, lots of pastures for the horses, the barn housing the stables and the indoor arena, the rabbits enclosure and of course our farmhouse with its big garden and our greenhouse.

    Who is “us” you might be wondering. We are a family of four, all enthusiastic travelers, more or less fluent in English with German being our native language. We have been workaway hosts since summer 2015 and had many folks from all over the world staying with us - England, Norway, Australia, New Zealand, Spain, Portugal, Slovenia. With some we are still in touch, one even comes back every year to visit.
    I’ll start the introduction with myself as I’ll be the main host: I am Colleen, 28 years old, I've done workaway in the USA, Ireland and Portugal. I’ve always loved traveling and have explored many European countries by myself. I can communicate both in English and German fluently. My passion is my greenhouse with all the different vegetables I’m growing in there. While gardening I love listening to the radio or my audiobooks - Peter James’ Roy Grace series is my favorite. I work in the office of a construction company. With me in the upstairs flat lives my boyfriend Adrian, he’s also 28 years old, an avid reader, a passionate cook and a dog lover. He works in a grocery store as an assistant store manager. With us lives Oreo, the only indoor cat we currently have, she’s not fond of the dogs.

    Downstairs the dogs are living with my parents - my mum Gisela, 62, and her husband Olaf, 57. My mum retired from public services two years ago, Olaf still has to work three years till retirement from public service. Both love traveling, Greece and Spain are their absolute favorites. My mum understands basic Spanish and speaks good English, my stepdad however understands quite a lot but doesn't like to speak much (in any language). He loves to work in the garden after work and enjoys his evening with a glass of good wine in front of the TV. My mum on the other hand basically lives outside, except for winter. Then you can find her in front of the fireplace in the living room. Her passion are the horses, she has a ton of experience around the whole topic of everything horsey.

    The horses have been with us for a long time now: Ebony is 28, I grew up with her by my side. She is retired and is no longer riden, but enjoys being scratched, brushed and cuddles. She loves overly ripe bananas. Her son Lucky was born with us in 2015, he’s a special horse with a lot of personality, not broken in yet, but loves attention of any kind. Bobbie is our third horse, she just turned 20 years old. She’s very lovely and does a lot of mischief. When we’re not careful, she’s the first to escape through an open gate. She can be ridden but not a lot due to health issues, long walks with a stop at a lake or river are perfect for her. She loves to splash and dunk her nose into the refreshing water. Castello is around 22 y/o, he belongs to Elena, a young mother who is a great help around the farm whenever we need a helping hand. She lives in a neighboring village.

    The photo album is updated with recent pictures and more detailed descriptions.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Possibility to learn German, explore the area and make lifelong friends.

    You can improve your English / German as well as learning plenty of new vocabulary.

    You'll learn a lot about horses, cats and dogs including feeding, mucking and everything involving these animals.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for one or two workawayers, who speak a decent level of either English or German and are willing to look after the farm, while part or all of our family goes on vacation.


    You will not be left alone with everything. Elena will come and help with the horses, another friend of mine will check up on my cat and the rabbits! The animals don't like being left at home and require company to stay peaceful at home. That's our main reason for hosting with workaway: Someone who looks after the animals, assures their wellbeing and simply spends time with them.

    daily chores:
    - horses: mucking the barn & yard, grooming, cuddling (no training / riding!)
    - rabbits: feeding, cleaning their hutch / yard, fill in dens in progress
    - cats: feeding, petting, grooming, emptying litter boxes
    - dogs: taking them outside, grooming, cuddling, keeping them company
    - barn: cleaning, sweeping
    - household: basic tasks, watering plants
    - garden: watering the plants, cleaning after the dogs

    This list is not complete, the tasks may vary on a day to day basis. Not every tasks needs to be completed daily. Adjustments or additions are possible.

    You'll have plenty of free time to explore the area! Free time may vary every week, as the tasks vary.
    5 hours / 5 days a week is an estimated amount of time, it depends on your own speed!

    Experience with animals preferred, no riding skills required.
    No smoking or heavy drinking!

    We can host up to two Workaways, but unfortuanately no families!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We speak English on a good level, but one never gets too old to learn new words :D The same it is with Spanish, we're happy to take time and learn from you! We can teach German in exchange.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation, food, snacks & drinks are provided by us in exchange for your help.

    We also offer a German SIM card for your phone with some data and free calls within germany.
    Fast WIFI is available around the house and most parts of the garden.

    We have one or two bikes you could use, they're save and good to drive.

    If you have a driving licence and a couple of years experience driving on the right side of the road, you might take one of our cars out, if neccessary.

    We offer a fully furnished room with a queensized bed in the house, very quiet and cozy, to whoever is staying with us.
    The farmhouse has 2 kitchens, 2 bathrooms + 1 extra WC, a huge living room with a fireplace & TV and a room with some exercise / sport equipment. The dogs and one cat are living inside as well.
    When everyone is home, bathrooms will be shared.

    Large patio, nice garden and pastures to roam around, large fields and a lake within 5 min walk.

    Depending on your plans, ambitions, work attitude we can talk about pocket money and other benefits.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Pickup from the airport or central train / bus station in Hamburg possible.

    I'm always up for an adventure, daytrips can be organized, and I'm very happy to drive and show you around.

    Müssen is a small village, it has 2 bakery shops, 1 little farm shop, a train station and a very nice lake with a beach.
    The next towns are 10 minutes by car or 5 minutes by train (4€ single ticket), Hamburg is the closest city, it can be reached within 30 minutes by car or train (14€ day return ticket)
    Berlin, the capital of Germany, is 3 hours by train or bus (30€ for a return ticket)

    I have an Instagram account pink_limelight, where I am sometimes active, sometimes not.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a good and fast Internet connection, but it is not always 100% stable, especially in the late evening hours. We also have plenty of sitting areas inside and outside for working on projects.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Somewhere on our property we can arrange a suitable spot for the vehicle. But we can not offer electricity or a water connection.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)








N° de référence hôte : 318775496875