mis à jour  

Studio d'arts, cottage, jardin, animaux dans une zone de montagne tranquille, Co. Tipperary, Irlande

  • Irlande
  • Enregistré comme favori 1142 fois
  • Activité récente: 29 mars 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    I am now Looking for help for Spring 2023
    We particualrly need an animal lover who can be left alone to care for all the creatures while I work on other projects.
    Please read the WHOLE profile. Thanks X L

    Hardworking, Outdoors Kind people only need Apply.
    I may ask for references or feedback from other hosts.
    Current projects include:
    Fieldwork Firewood Fencing Fixing Furry Friends Fotography Fun & Festivities
    Willow weaving Muck clearing Manuring Sowing Supporting House work Repairs
    Cleaning, Decorating, Gardening and other things listed below.

    Could suit a couple, someone with their own car or someone coming longer term to Ireland.
    Someone with skills and interest in photography, video and Internet marketing.
    I am a well known artist and basketmaker, making a range of arts and crafts, using natural materials and metal. I also teach and run community arts projects. My home and studio are in a quiet location in the hills of Tipperary in the Heart of Ireland.

    I practice my own form of Permaculture Gardening. The garden is wild and in a cold place but we can still grow lots of food and basketry materials for our own use. Volunteers can learn about food growing through all the stages from soil creation and making shelter, to seed sowing, care, harvest and storage. Always lots of outdoor tasks to do. I have extensive knowledge of plants and trees and their uses that I love to share.

    I keep four beautiful horses and would like some help to care for them every day, mucking out, grooming, feeding. Genuine horse lovers are always welcome. The horses are bit free and barefoot and are not for pleasure riding. They lead a free life as much as possible though there are opportunities for the right people to help with their learning and go with them on trips in the countryside. I can teach you how to develop loving and respectful relationships with the herd and how to be safe and confident around all horses. Experienced horse people may learn an alternative approach and philosophy.

    I also keep five mad messy dogs, three demanding cats and some hens so animal lovers only please.

    The cottage is old and in need of constant repair/renovation and I am also trying to build new sheds using mostly recycled materials. Someone with woodworking, handyman or building skills would be great here too.

    When there are a few people in the house, cleaning is ongoing and everyone needs to help with that.

    Food is simple and homemade and everyone shares the cooking. we cook mainly with wood on a range. The wood we try to get ourselves. I try not to buy processed food and eat quite healthily but on a tight budget. We eat meat but will accommodate vegetarians if they are willing to cook.

    Accommodation is basic, Sleeping areas in Caravan and Studio Bunk can be cold but I provide plenty of warm covers and hot water bottles. Room in house sometimes available.
    There is no TV and very limited internet access. The house is five miles from the nearest town but there is a local pub 1.5 miles away. No local public transport.
    I work hard and like to party too. I play some Irish Tin whistle and I enjoy playing with guitars and singing. If you play an instrument, be sure not to come to Ireland without it.
    I host volunteers to help out with a variety of daily tasks, and to look after things when I am not around, in exchange for bed and board and the opportunity to learn a wide variety of useful skills for life.

    I basically welcome versatile assistants who will help me with everything as needed. This includes housework, cleaning, cooking, art projects, animal care, gardening, house maintenance, building projects, fencing, making paths, processing and weaving willow and hazel, getting firewood, help with horses, field care, computer and documentation.

    Volunteers must understand English well, for safety around the animals and workshops.

    The perfect volunteer would be a really strong builder, metalworker, woodworker and landscaper who likes doing housework, plays an instrument, loves horses and growing things, doesn't mind bad weather, hard graft or basic living, but is also a genius at fixing things, marketing, photography and organisation. I know you are out there!!!
    There could possibly be a long term opportunity here for the right person with flexibility.

    Stay 2 to 4 weeks or possibly longer if it works.
    Could suit someone with their own car.

    Musicians, singers, craftspeople, woodfolk, horse whisperers and all enthusiastic helpers especially welcome.
    TV watchers and computer or sugar addicts beware!!!

    Please contact me with possible dates if you are interested.
    IMPORTANT! Put the word HOPE in the subject box so I know that you have read the whole profile. I won't take your request seriously if you leave this out.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    More life skills than you will imagine! Music, Craic and hard work.

  • Aide


    The help needed varies through the year and depending on the weather and season. Lots of outdoor time, Home chores are shared.
    Longer term visitors especially welcome.
    My art takes up a lot of my time so it is good if volunteers can help independently and take responsibility for the animals when necessary.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Room in house, Caravan in garden and studio bunk.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The house is quite isolated and there is no local transport service. It is a very quiet place and when I am working hard I don't go out much. Volunteers need to be able to amuse themselves and there is space and opportunity for anyone wishing to engage in their own creative projects particularly during a long stay. There are plenty of lovely walks in the area and when I do go out for a music night, I try to bring you with me.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Some van parking. Use of bathroom and kitchen in house.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week - variable

N° de référence hôte : 312549333338

Feedback (30)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

The kettle's on - join us for some housework and garden help in Connemara, Ireland
Living off the grid in harmony with nature in Munster, Ireland