Family hobby farm help near the small town of Turner Valley, Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 50 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family's small hobby farm is located 30min south of Calgary. We have horses, cows, chickens, goats, sheep, rabbits, and a dog.

    In addition to the animals we have 5 children ages 2 to 12 years.

    Our home that you are invited to is located near the small town of Turner Valley in the foothills of Alberta.

    We are located in the country away from the busyness of the city but Calgary is only a short drive away and we travel there frequently.

    As a family we have spent many years working in the Rocky Mountains doing trail riding, hiking, rock climbing etc and are a very “outside family”.

    Cody works as an engineer/construction contractor in the day time and helps out with the farm work in the evenings and on weekends.

    Sarah is a stay at home mom to the kids and takes care of the farm chores and animals during the day.

    We are located a two hour drive from places like Banff and are on the edge (30min) from Kananaskis provincial park and world class hiking and outdoor adventures in the Rockies.

    During the summer there are lots of things to see and do such as the Calgary Stampede, local festivals, and shops, but in our opinion the great part of where we live is the close proximity to the mountains in addition to the fun things to do on the farm.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is a great opportunity to be part of a Canadian hobby farm. We are not professional farmers but have been around animals for many years and enjoy sharing what we have learned and learning from what others have to share.

    This would be an amazing opportunity for someone who wants to spend time in close proximity to the Rocky Mountains as there are many opportunities to explore this amazing wilderness area.

    We have had many friends from other cultures and countries visit us and have always had a great time hosting them and helping them to make the most of experiencing what Alberta, Canada has to offer. We are born and raised in Alberta and think it’s the best place on earth to live.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The work we need help with includes the following specific tasks but we would expect the Workawayer to be a “hands on helper” who is excited to become part of our family rhythm for the duration of their stay.

    Our kids are well behaved and very lovable and are excited about a visitor coming to stay with us.

    List of tasks:

    -We graze our animals in an eco friendly way and so have to move the electric fence 2x each week to give them fresh grass. This involves using a weed whipper to cut a new path in the grass for the fence. After moving the wire then the animals get moved to the new section
    -chores like feeding the chickens, collecting eggs, milking goats, feeding rabbits, cleaning pens, filling water troughs, etc.
    -we have 4 horses needing to be exercised and ridden so depending on experience and interest there is opportunity to ride and be part of training or exercising the horses
    -other tasks for general farm upkeep, mending or building fences and repairing corrals
    -If have international drivers license we may ask for help to pick up feed for animals or other errands as needed
    -help with evening meals and a share of the cleaning, cooking and house work to support Sarah
    -some watching of the older kids may be requested at times but we are not expecting the workawayer to be a regular babysitter
    -we are planning to be gone for some vacation during the summer, so there would be one to two weeks where we would expect the Workawayer to look after the basic farm chores on their own.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A private bedroom in our family home will be available to you for the duration of your stay. There is shared bathroom and kitchen in the home and you will be part of the family house and life.

    We eat most meals together as a family but lunch and breakfast are more serve yourself from snacks and leftovers and quite informal with whoever is there.

    A hot evening meal is prepared most days and eaten together as a family.

    We would expect you to participate and help with the prep and cooking. In addition, we would love to try any special traditional food from your country.

    We keep the fridge and pantry stocked with snacks and so you should not ever be hungry!

    We typically go food shopping once a week into town 20min away, but are in town 2-3 times a week if other errands are required.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is a local summer camp that help at quite often. Previous Workawayers have enjoyed visiting on some of their time off. We used to work there and they do lots of fun things in the mountains like horse back riding and hiking, canoeing etc.

    The Calgary stampede is a must see for most people, greatest outdoor show on earth.’

    During the summer there are lots of local farmers markets and rodeos.

    The Bar-U historic ranch is a short drive away.

    The mountains are close and provide world class hiking, mountain biking and rock climbing opportunities and adventures of every kind.

    Banff national park is only two hour drive away and the world famous Lake Louise is another 30 min further.

    Calgary is 30 min away and provides all of the amenities you would expect from an international destination and travel hub

    Southern Alberta is a world class destination and will not disappoint if you are an outdoorsy adventuring type of person. Our region is “ranch land” so is a more agricultural area.

    As far as our family and rhythm we find ourselves to be a fairly busy group in the summer time with lots of outside time around home spent working on various farm projects or being with the animals. We are fairly home oriented with the farm responsibilities but also try to get out to go camping or hiking at least a couple of times a summer. Sundays are Church days for us and we invite guests to join us if they want to but it’s not a requirement. Sunday afternoons are usually a bit slower in pace with time for a nap or maybe finishing up some projects outside.

    We expect people to be fairly self sufficient and jump in kind of folks, if you are the type who like to watch or need to be invited into the action you might feel a bit left out. On the other hand if you like to be busy with things to do and to get to know people while working with your hands we would likely be a great fit.

    The kids are full of energy and are super engaged in their lives and playing. Sarah and I tend to be a bit more laid back and like some quiet time but also really enjoy visiting with guests to find out more about their culture and lives back at home. Overall we are just a normal Canadian family and are looking forward to welcoming some guests into our home and normal family life.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 298577458188