Join us and help with the horses and cooking family meals in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

  • Enregistré comme favori 352 fois
  • Activité récente: 19 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired horse lover living in Playa Chiquita Costa Rica in the caribbean talamanca jungle, 5 minute walk to ocean we own a property 6 kilometers from Puerto Viejo Limon, with my 2 beautiful horses, lots of medicinal plants, fruit trees and 3 indigenous BriBri structures. We also have our little dog Koa and 5 chickens. This is a beautiful area, there is the equivalent of a wildlife corridor going from high in the Talamanca mountains to the ocean. There are too many species of birds and animals to name here, come and find out!
    We have been developing this property for 15 years, and are heavily involved with our Indigenous community, as well as local community.

    My main focus is to have someone here enjoying a natural way of living while helping to care for my two horses and learning the way of liberty training and natural horsemanship. We do mountain walks with my 2 mares also pasturing them in neighboring land, and trail riding. you will interface with our professional liberty trainer, once or twice a month and occasionally with the ferrier who is a professional Parelli trainer. I am ideally riding my horses 3 to 4 times a week. I am looking for assistance and a riding companion to join me in exercising my young horse. we have miles of jungle and beach trails. in addition to riding and training there will be stable maintenance, cleaning feeding, and grooming etc. On the days that we ride we need to be in the stable and ready to groom and tack the horses by 6:30am.

    We are offering housing in our indigenous structure made of all natural materials. you will be sleeping in a loft, below other events happen with the horses, hoof trimming, veterinary care etc. I also use the lower portion for teaching weekly Tai Chi classes and occasionally other events and workshops. It is also yours to enjoy, have friends over and hammock time.

    We have an outdoor indigenous cooking structure, which you can use for cooking over open fire. We are also fully equipped with an indoor kitchen in the main house. Part of your tasks will be to cook healthy family meals 2 to 3 times a week. You are welcome to share our house, bathrooms, outdoor shower and of course kitchen and refrigerator space. There is a bicycle for you to borrow.

    my husband is 88 years old and will need companionship from time to time
    you are always welcome to share coffee and breakfast with him in the morning, and invite him out for hammock time in the afternoon.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    this is a thriving international community, with every kind of opportunity to learn or participate in yoga, dance, kirtan singing, energy work, permaculture workshops etc.
    we are heavily involved with our indigenous, as well as tico (costarican) and black Caribbean communities.
    Learn and practice Spanish. My husband is Mexican American and is also fluent in Spanish.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Prior experience with horses is most important. Ideally 5 years of prior horse experience is what I’m looking for. You will be interfacing with a professional Liberty trainer for my 4 year old mare. we will be doing trail riding, grooming, stable cleaning, maintenance and ground work with the horses. you will need prior experience both riding and handling horses, and be willing to adjust to the way these horses are trained. we will do beach and jungle trail riding and mountain trail walking.

    Cooking healthy family meals 2 to 3 times a week to share.

    Invite my 88 year old husband for a hammock time , or breakfast visit. Play with our little farm dog Koa!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be sleeping in a loft in one of the indigenous structures. Bedding, sheets towels, mosquito nets, sleeping mats are provided. This can sleep up to 2 people with a queen size sleeping mat.

    Share the bathroom and outdoor shower in the house, as well as kitchen, refrigerator space, and some food storage is provided.

    Food for breakfast is always provided.
    You are also welcome to cook outside in the indigenous style wood burning kitchen

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Time off here is really fun! 5 minute walk to beautiful secluded Playa Chiquita beach. Snorkeling, surfing, swimming, again there are always local events, dancing, yoga classes, singing, there are 2 WhatsApp groups with announcements of local events in the community.

    Waterfall trips and visit to indigenous community to learn about culture.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    There are several options for internet connection. Here in the house is often good and if not you can connect to the fiber optic at hotel next door

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is space to park a camper van but nothing covered.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    So far both of our workaways had multiple dogs.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week but often 2 hours a day. and many free days for exploring.

N° de référence hôte : 292746592415

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




All around help at a Swiss Family Robinson type lodge restoration, cleaning,yard work and house sitting in Playa Negra, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Welcoming help at our city cultural eco hostel in the heart of San Jose, Costa Rica