Receive pilgrims in my open house in a mountain village on the Camino Primitivo de Santiago, Spain



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 1013 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    96.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description


    I bought this house in December 2019 in the center of Pola de Allande. in the mountains in West Asturias, close to the border to Galicia. It took some time to make it look comfortable and cosy, but now it is mostly ready.
    What I am looking for now is Hospitaleros/-as, people who stay for some time in an Albergue (place where pilgrims rest and spend the night). It is specially nice to do if you have been a pilgrim yourself or do one of those long distance hikes yourself later on. I plan to have 2 hospitaleros during the season. Till half of August I already have people confirmed. But you are always welcome to check if there is space, also last minute, as travel plans can always change.
    I prefer stays of a couple of weeks, so you can get into a rhythm, but do not get bored. It is although flexible, depending on circumstances, needs and interests.

    The idea is to make the pilgrims feel welcome. What we do is make the beds, wash the sheets, prepare breakfast, do some cleaning. And it is always nice to talk to the pilgrims, about their trip, their background and life in general.
    Most pilgrims will arrive somewhere between 13.00 and 19.00, depending on how fast they walk, where they spend the previous night and how many breaks they take. Some will have a reservation, others will just walk in. They often arrive tired and after registration want to relax, rest, take a shower, and then explore the village and have lunch or dinner in one of the bars or restaurants. In the evening they tend to go to sleep relatively early, as the next day another long hike is waiting for them. They get up at 07.00-07.30, have breakfast prepared by us and leave by 08.00-08.30. Then we can change the sheets, have breakfast ourselves, clean a bit, and prepare for arrivals for that day.

    The house is situated next to the river that flows through the village and. It has a garden where the pilgrims can sit, relax, read, eat, take a nap. I started growing some vegetables so in summer we should have some own produce of courgette/zucchini, squash, pumpkin, eggplant/aubergine, beans, lettuce. There is also a small place to make barbecues.

    Somebody with experience with interior design or simple good taste would be welcome. I want to create many small niches and corners to put all the decorations I collected over 30 years of travelling all over the world. Also the rooms need a bit of decoration, I just do not provide meat myself). If you are artistic, I am looking for someone to paint murals.

    The house is a historic building of the village and has been here around 120 years. There are three floors, a big storage place at the back where the garden is, some 4 meters lower than street level, and an attic space. So there are 5 levels in total. The ground floor is a big living room with tables, chairs and sofas for everybody to eat and relax. The first floor is where I have my room and you will stay. There are 2 rooms for the helpers, so good chance you have your own room. And the second floor is for the pilgrims. It has 3 rooms with 8 sleeping places for now, which can be extended if needed if I get some bunk beds.

    It is a great place to access nature and the back country. There are beautiful views from both sides of the house into the surrounding mountains, river and village, as well, roads and trails headed out in all directions.

    Although the village is small, under 500 inhabitants, it is well equipped, we have: 3 small supermarkets, 8 (yes really!) cafe/bars/restaurants, 3 do it yourself stores, a bakery, a butchery, small medical centre, public cyberpub (I have great wifi at home), 4 hairdressers!, a library, a bookstore and even a swimming pool in summer.

    I will provide the food. Meals and food are vegetarian most of the time. If we (or some) want to eat meat, the idea is to share the cost.

    The winter months here are very much a personal retreat setting, a quiet refuge.

    Don't hesitate to ask questions if you have any doubts. I am happy to have a video or audio call to explain things. i can provide some more photos as well.

    BTW, the older references you see (up to 2017) are of my former place, it was a bed & breakfast in the Tigre Delta nearby Buenos Aires in Argentina. I am used to having volunteers :)


  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Practice languages, I am fluent in Spanish and English, and comfortable in German and French, native Dutch. It’s a nice village where you can talk to the people, they’re friendly and often have time to chat. Recently, I had people from 7 different countries at the same time. The surrounding villages and landscapes are Asturian gems, absolutely brilliant old Spain.

  • Aide


    Depends a bit of the moment.
    I am doing all kinds of small repairs and upgrading.
    If you have your own ideas and are savvy in the garden, perfect.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    There are several rooms with beds, so take your pick! If you are a couple you’ll be cozy.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    To reach Pola de Allande, you can take a bus from Oviedo or Gijon to Cangas del Narcea, where I can pick you up.

    Some volunteers come and go hitchhiking, which works most of the time but can be slow in old Spain.

    I am flexible with the hours you put in as long as you are responsible and contribute. I can give suggestions about what you could do, but I really like people to work independently. If you want to relax some day, go for a hike, or study (spanish), no problem.

    Apart from the Camino primitivo long distance trek, there are many short day hikes you can do, starting from Pola itself or some place nearby. I have books at my place you can read, there is a library. In the evenings we sometimes make a fire in the garden, chill, talk, play games, have fun, dance, sing, watch movies or go out for a drink at one of the bars. It’s a high quality of life, for sure.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have good working wifi. Work hours are flexible at my place.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is a big parking space around the corner, you can see the vehicle from the windows. But staying inside the house is nicer and more comfortable probably

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Dogs and cats are welcome. I would be happy to have them around.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    some hours per day, quite flexible, as long as you put in effort to contribute, I am satisfied

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

N° de référence hôte : 288976965137