Urban homesteading and gardening for non-profit projects in southwest Rochester, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 42 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.02.2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are long-time urban homesteaders committed to revitalizing our neighborhood, which is nestled along the west bank of Genesee River in southwest Rochester. We have rejuvenated over 30 homes, nurtured fruits, vegetables, flowers and bees on unused land, and have tried to breathe new life into an area in need of re-investment and community-building. We are particularly proud that we renovated and maintain the home, garden and grounds of an Institute for Nonviolence, a non-profit / NGO. You can expect to interact with locals and people from outside the U.S.. Nearly every week we host a potluck dinner for friends and renters. We have neighborhood friends from Afghanistan, Argentina, China, Costa Rica, Eritrea, Ghana, Guyana, Russia, Turkey, and of course throughout the United States.

    We have references we can share through other sites where we have listed for some time.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travelers will interact with long and short-term residents from the United States and other countries. Depending on one's interest and what projects are underway, travelers could learn about gardening, peacemaking and community involvement, yard and house maintenance, and more.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Volunteers would assist us with tasks ranging from
    - gardening development and maintenance at an institute for Nonviolence, Lots of Food sites, Mt. Pleasant Park garden, the Rochester Children's Garden and on other reclaimed neighborhood land and community-benefit projects,
    - property renovations and maintenance, as well as landscaping and yard care for these non-profit programs,
    - sorting through and putting to use donated items for reuse, recycling, gifting to homeless shelters, etc.

    Please ask any questions you may have.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Sign language (American): Débutant
    Greek: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I love to get a little practice with my Greek, Spanish and American Sign Language / signed English / fingerspelling.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We accommodate guests in our home when we can, or in nearby furnished, shared households where a private, fully-furnished bedroom is provided. When possible, we share meals with our workers; we eat a pretty healthy, largely vegetarian diet (though we are not strictly vegetarian).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are on a bus line, close to nice hiking / bicycling trails along the Genesee River, a public swimming pool, etc.. We can give you more details once we communicate.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Any accommodation we would provide for you, whether in our home or an adjacent shared property, would have wifi and ethernet internet connections.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a couple of off-street parking areas with electric and water access.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 281732551931