Enjoy a multicultural and quintessential British family and help with our young child in rural Dorset, UK

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Enregistré comme favori 80 fois
  • Activité récente: 22.01.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    We are a small family of three; myself, my wife, and our 2 year old daughter Mili. Our home is in a rural village in Dorset (in the UK). It's within what's known as the "Piddle Valley".

    We live next door to my parents, my sister and her family live across a small stream (currently they are in and out of India). My sister keeps a big vegetable garden in the paddock between the houses and there are also chickens, and ducks being kept there too.

    Before the paddock, there's a big lawn and my parents maintain a beautiful English garden with flower beds with shrubs, bedding plants and lots of roses. In spring the daffodils are out in force, and the garden evolves as the year progresses.

    Our main task for the work away person is to have someone to help us with our daughter, Mili. We'd like a minimum of four hours each day (except Sunday) supporting us in raising her as my wife and I both have jobs. Most of the work will be childcare in and around our house but there could be a variety of other odd jobs which will also come up.

    We typically offer lunch daily at our house, but you can do your own breakfasts and dinners. For couples they might like more independence, with singles more, but either which we way we try to welcome you as part of our family. : )

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Cultural exchange options are wide and diverse : ).

    My wife is Manipuri, a north eastern state in India, and so you can get to know more about Manipuri's,
    my sister's husband funnily enough is also Indian, but he's from Andra Pradesh and a keen motorbiker!
    My sister is an avid permaculture gardener and runs the veg patch for the family
    My parents are good English folk, traditional and proper!
    My wife is a keen yoga instructor, and we are both keen on spiritual practices,
    I am a huge walker and eagerly walk and run around the beautiful Dorset countryside.
    We all love a wild swim too, and head out for wild swims to the coast and rivers in the summer quite regularly
    My elder nephew is football mad, and his younger brother likes to play a lot
    Mili has an intense stare, is super happy, and cute and has lots to learn!
    We're a well read family, so there's always a book around if needed

  • Au pair

    Aide « au pair »

    This host has let us know they’ll be complying with UK regulations for au pair stays.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our primary aim is to find someone to help us with our 2 year old daughter as I run an software business focused on social and environmental impact, and my wife has a part-time software development job. We'd love some help for about 4 hours a day, excluding Sunday, with Mili.

    We'd not want to be prescriptive as we're sure you'll come with your own ideas but to give you a flavour of our days -

    A typical day for you might be having breakfast in the studio, coming over to our cottage at around 9am to take Mili for a few hours until around 12/ 12.30. Now she's getting a little older we think more constructive/ planned play and activities are beneficial for her and this is very much focused in and around using hands, body and ideally being as outdoors as possible. She's a social little thing, so we need to satiate that requirement too. By 12 we'll probably have lunch ready (typically you can eat with us), and Mili will be ready for a nap, so there's a break and then after lunch we'll ask you to do a little more help for an hour or so at some point, usually around 5pm before dinner for an hour or so.

    Additionally there might be odd jobs like popping into the shops, or helping with driving if you're comfortable with driving cars.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Hindi: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be staying in a ground floor studio flat which was the old dairy. It's a very large open plan room with a double bed, a separate bathroom with shower and sink plus a small kitchen with an electric oven, hob and microwave. It has a small terrace outside as well. (see photos in the profile)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We can provide access to a car which is likely to be helpful when you want to go elsewhere.

    The place is in Central Dorset, and has some beautiful countryside and coast - for walking, running, cycling etc
    Our place is on the road but it's a beautiful house and garden which is peaceful and quiet
    There is very limited local bus transport, so a car or a driving license is important, if not critical

    We're looking for someone, to help out with our daughter Mili. So our expectation is that you will be quite good with young children, enjoy time with them, and then are happy to live a quiet rural existence in your free time.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    My wife and I work in tech, so we have the requisite fibre connection and a studio flat we have is a great workspace too.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There's space to put a van, but ideally it would not be too big!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 279113274381

Feedback (3)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Help a family with gardening, maintenance and fun in Mid Wales, UK
Creative times with our family in Cornwall, UK