Échange linguistique, bricolage et permaculture avec notre famille à Saint-Pie, Québec, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 2 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    16.03.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Family of three (3 and a half year old son) wanting to learn languages (Chinese, German, Spanish, Korean, ASL) and explore cultures ; needing various types of help with our homestead, educational farm project and permaculture. I have done workaway in the past and have fond memory of it. Being hosts is a lifestyle choice for our family.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Come learn about small scale organic farming and permaculture in a French speaking rural area of Quebec. We commute weekly to the West Island of Montreal with our electric car and can give you a lift! It will also be my pleasure to discuss education, language learning, health and how we can make the world a better place. :) We speak French and English and can help you practice those when our son is not around. We share our house (duplex) with French speaking friends (a couple).

    We will have many visitors including friends from Montreal's, family from more traditional French Quebecois backgrounds, Immigrants friends, children from our village wanting to learn gardening and possibly language tutors for our son.

    You could be as social or as asocial as you want and we will respect that :)

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    How you can help you will depend on your skills and interest.

    The most important is that you can speak a high level of one of those languages : Spanish, German, Chinese, Korean, American Sign Language (ASL).

    I raise my 3 and a half years old son in a multilingual and multicultural environment. If you have a skill or a passion you would like to share with him, let me know! (FYI: We have music instruments, some art materials, a microscope and a telescope. We are open at buying necessary materials for activities.) Your time with him can range from 3 hours per week to nanny status!

    Ps. We would be overjoyed with a martial art or archery teacher speaking one of our target languages that would want to stay with us for a long period of time. We would be ready to find other students and pay money for his teachings.


    Building Projects (you need to be able to use tools):

    -Building Deck and Canvas tent for workaways (and sleep in a camping tent until its done ;) )
    -Building a shower for workaways
    -Building a composting toilet shed
    -Building a summer shelter for the chicken (We plan on moving them around to work and enrich the soil. We have a moveable electric fence)
    -Building an outdoor kitchen for workaways
    -Making the treehouse safer by adding planks and solidifying it
    -Modifying the garage for winter garden storage
    -Worm farm under Rabbit Hutch combo
    -Fixing the fence
    -We are working on the plans of more projects.


    Homestead/Permaculture I need help from more knowledgeable folks :
    -Creating Chlorella Tank or Seaweed culture
    -Permaculture maps of the site (Sun map, water, etc.);



    Examples of projects in the garden (learning opportunities for organic gardener enthusiasts):

    - Setting posts in the garden (tomatoes, cucs)
    - Helping us in installing seasonal hoop greenhouses (If you're good with knots that's a plus!)
    - Helping to install the watering system
    - Prepare the garden beds and plant seeds


    Examples of recurring tasks:

    - Watering
    - Collecting Japanese Beetles around the garden and feed them to the chickens
    - Chicken maintenance (water, food, collecting eggs)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Sign language (American): Débutant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Korean: Débutant
    Chinois (mandarin): Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are raising our child in a multilingual and cosmopolitan way.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The accommodations are located at the back of the garden, next to the firepit.

    SHELTER:
    Early spring : The springtime pioneer(s) have a camping tent with electricity and wifi. The toilet situation : there is a toilet in the camping tent for night time #1 emergencies. You are welcome to use our toilets during the day and we do own some sort of indoor composting toilet that splits #1 and #2. It's just a bit big for the camping tent but we could make a quick shelter around it and put it next to the camping tent. For the shower you can come inside the house or focus on the shower building project. ^^'

    Rest of the summer: Canvas tent on deck with electricity, wifi, indoor composting toilet and outdoor shower with privacy.

    APPLIANCES: Electric heater, electric single burner, electric kettle, italian coffee maker, floating tea infuser, google home speaker,

    FOOD: We will buy you food (you can come with us at the grocery). We can have occasional meals together! You can take any food you want from the garden or eggs from the chickens. :) Outdoor picnics with view on the garden are priceless. If cooking is not your thing, I can make extra food for you. We eat mostly plant-based low sugar and grains with occasional northern shrimps, fish, cheese, organ meats and LOTS OF EGGS.

    Although we eat healthy, we do exceptions for the sake of our social life and pleasant experiences. We simply take charcoal with those meals.
    - We have maple syrup on hand from my uncle's maple farm and I can cook some Quebecois crêpes for you ;) .
    - If you have never tasted a Poutine before or are craving one, we will gladly bring you to the local Cantine and share one with you.

    EXTRAS :
    We have an outdoor hot tub available for you to use at all times and a sauna (inside our house) available upon scheduling (ex: every day at 9am or 5:30pm). Hammock under the apple tree for relaxing and naps.
    I often make green tea with flowers and goji berries in the afternoon and I would love to share.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Wifi and electricity in your quarters.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a huge parking lot so there are no issues.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Dogs need to have been exposed and able to stay calm around free range chickens.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 278431115222