Help us creating a permaculture homestead in Medina Sidonia, Cádiz, Spain

Country

Espagne

mis à jour   Last minute

Enregistré comme favori 201 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    27.05.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    364

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    90.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Offre "last minute" : besoin d'aide urgent, tout de suite, mais aussi à d'autres périodes de l'année.
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a permaculture homestead on 3 hectares, a 10 min walk to the centre of Medina Sidonia, a small rural town in Cádiz, Andalucía.

    Slowly we will extend existing mature fruit orchard into a mediteranean woodland garden.

    I hope that people who come here learn how to live more gently on our beautiful planet and with a lot less stuff and a lot less waste.



    We are a bilingual English/Spanish family that believes that all religions are equal and to be respected. However, we are not ideal for learning Spanish as we speak Spanglish often?

    I work full time as a teacher during the week so you need to be a very proactive, independent problem-solver! I require a minimum 4 week stay.

    My 16 year old daughter lives with me and the other 3 children are working, studying or exploring.

    It is hard physical work here generally walking up and down on a slope constantly. You need to get a kick out of physical labour and enjoy the tired sensation of a job well done.

    Throwing food in the bin hurts my soul.... and I try to eat from the vegetable patch so it doesn't go into the Compost bin.... slightly less soul damage!
    We eat meat once a week but happy to adjust to other different requirements so long as complicated cooking is lead by those in need. We support La Almaciga (Medina) and the Red Agroecologico de Cadiz.

    Smokers - I have recently discovered how sensitive my body is to tobacco it makes me feel very ill. So any smoking needs to be far away from communal areas and from me!

    We share our space with a donkey, dog and 3 cats.

    Looking forward to interviewing you for our project!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    At this stage, anyone planning to set up something similar will see the difficulty with priorities and how everything needs to be done first!

    I do not profess to have a lot of accumulated experience to teach others especially as I am hardly there but it is an opportunity to learn from what I can guide you on and to do you own research from.my library and build your observation skills.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Current projects pending helpers!
    Build a comprar toilet and outside kitchen
    Paint wood and seal roof.
    Clearing the stream.
    Restoring a spring reservoir (alberca).
    Compost

    Daily jobs: Loving the donkey. Watering. Strimming. Helping with the food preparation amd keeping the area clean and tidy to be enjoyed.

    Please ensure that you have either the extended European medical coverage or some sort of medical insurance . Farm work involves tools and accidents can happen easily.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Currently we offer 2 caravans and space for parking a camper van and meals. Our food, we love food, ranges from European to spicy Asian. We are NOT vegetarian!

    Be aware there is limited indoor space.
    We have an indoor toilet/shower with heating and an outdoor dery toilet with open air cold water shower. The kitchen is communal.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Bus services from Medina Sidonia are almost null. More to Chiclana and Cadiz than to Jereza day to either Cadiz and Jerez. However a traveller with a car is 30 mins away from Jerez, Chiclana, Vejer, 45 minutes away from Cadiz and 1 hour away from Tarifa.

    The nearest supermarket is 10 minutes away and the town has some shops, banks, cafés and bars! This is a town that has been inhabited for 3000 years Phonecians, Romans, Muslims, French invaders! The oldest Visigoth church in Andalucia (600 AD) is 1km below us and the area is culturally, historically and archaeologically rich!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The wifi connection is not optic fibre but transmitted in. Enough to download stuff and stream and have a video call but probably better 1 person at a time

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 Hours a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












N° de référence hôte : 274691295696