Help us rescue our chateau and transform it into a green, sustainable family home in Maisonneuve, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 34 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with young children who have bought a chateau and 8 Ha of grounds looking for a better quality of life in France. We have horses, dogs, a cat and guinea pigs. We want to create a green living area from a chateau that hasn't had enough love for a while and grounds, including a large lake, that need nurturing.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are rescuing our chateau's tired interior, overgrown gardens and neglected lake back to the glory they deserve in a sustainable way. You will learn and help alongside us on the projects. South West France is culturally rich and diverse. You will learn learn English from us and French from our neighbours.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our project was due to start on 1/1/21 but Covid and Brexit slowed down the whole thing! We are now looking to restart all of our projects and are looking for workways with different skills to help us clear the lake of fallen trees and vegetation so that it can become a wildlife haven. The grounds have become overgrown with small trees and weeds that need clearing and a wildflower meadow created for butterflies, bees and birds.

    The chateau is structurally sound but needs some TLC with projects like painting the shutters and decorating inside and renewing bathrooms - all your help will be a support alongside us while we work on the projects. We have long term projects to replace the oil fired heating with green energy other sustainable projects like insulation. In addition to these we would welcome day to day help with cleaning, child care and dog, cat and horse sitting if we are away. Experience with horses would be ideal but we can give training in horse handling and care for anyone willing and empathic!

    We moved to France from England in the Spring of 2021 and our 3 young children (8, 7 and 6 years old) continue to need support coping with the transition. We hope to find empathic workaways to help us with the emotional and practical issues raised with the transition.

    We moved to France for a slower, more sustainable life for our family where children can be children for as long as they need and we would be delighted to share that experience!

    Due to covid restrictions in our area we can only accept workaways who are double vaccinated with a Pass Sanitaire.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The accommodation is a gite with 2 bedrooms and a shared kitchen, recreation area. You will be able to cook for yourself in the fully equipped kitchen and /or share family meals from time to time.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The area is a rich tourist destination with lots of outdoor destinations, restaurants and bars. The city of Bordeaux is just 2 hours away and there are ski resorts within 3.5 hours for weekends. We are family with young children who like being outside with our dogs and horses, eating fresh food and exercising.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have trialled having guests staying with us and working remotely during the summer of 2021 and it worked well. French rural internet is notoriously slow but our guests were able to use a variety of digital comms apps including Zoom, most of the time! We have been promised fibre internet for December 2021 but those promises are also notorious!

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have have plenty of space and can arrange an electric hookup.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We would welcome workawayers with pets

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 273215463635