1 / 4

Come be a part of our family on our beautiful Homestead on Vancouver Island, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 54 fois
  • Activité récente: 21 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    You have stumbled upon your dream workaway situation! We are a big extended family sharing a large beautiful property in the Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island where we have created an "eco-homestead" (with the help of more than 50 helpers from different organizations - many of whom have become our life-long friends!). We have large gardens, a self-built natural building house with some planned renovations as well as other building projects and five children. We are very into food and music and friends so do a lot of entertaining. We are a very busy household with lots of activities and visitors so there is never a dull moment. If you are looking for an opportunity to experience an open-minded, artistic, ecologically-minded family then this is your place.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We love to share our food and stories with you. We are unusual in that we live in an "extended-family" kind of community and have unusual and different eco-buildings on our property. We like good conversation and you will get lots of opportunity to practice English.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help with weeding, amending, planting, mulching, watering and harvesting our gardens. Possibly some landscaping or other chores that need a good back (chopping wood?). We are also building a bathhouse outbuilding so if you have building skills great! There are four older boys aged 13-18 and a 3 year old. The older boys are pretty self-sufficient but sometimes need rides places. The 3 year old is very cute and very busy and we'd love some help watching him.

    We have large gardens that we eat from most of the summer. We love cooking and eat delicious, plentiful (non-vegetarian) meals. We do a lot of canning and preserving at the end of the summer. There is always help needed in the kitchen... dishes anyone?

    We enjoy music (listening and playing) and good conversation and value a sense of humour, initiative, and joyful nature. A strong back, crafty hands or experience with wood would definitely be an asset. We prefer a longer stay- three or four weeks but will consider any length.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We speak English and French and are happy to share our languages.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a small trailer that was recently renovated. We provide clean bedding and a heater when it's cold. There is a solar outdoor shower in the summer and a composting toilet. Breakfasts and sometimes lunch are generally help-yourself from our kitchen but we cook dinner and eat as a family. There is always plentiful healthy food.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 20 minutes outside of Duncan so having your own transportation can be helpful though not necessary as we drive to town regularly. We are a short walk to the famous Kinsol Trestle over the Koksilah River, and there are bikes you can borrow to explore. The Trans-Canada Trail runs through our property and there are many other smaller trails through forest and up the mountains. It is a reasonable bike ride to the lake or to town (Duncan). We also have kayaks and paddleboards if you want to borrow them.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Our internet is not the best but folks here have been able to work from home on and off.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 266363157764

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Gardening, small projects around the house while creating lasting memories and connections in Sooke, Canada
Seaside in Canada's Bay of Fundy region, highest tides, fossils & minerals, forest and forage, arts in Parrsboro, NS, Canada