Help us with regeneration and permaculture project in Sandomil, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 18 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    My partner Marla and I have a 10 hectare permaculture regeneration project in Portugal. We are reforesting land with the native species, that is currently a Pine plantation. We want to rebuild some of the ruins and create a large forest garden to grow food and medicine. Marla is a herbalist and has started to grow a medicine garden. My background is mainly gardening/building, with some electrical & plumbing skills. We love music. I have decks and often play tunes in the evening to relax. Marla has several instruments which she plays with varying levels of skill. We have a black cat called Button who is friendly and loving, but is not good with dogs.
    There is a river at the bottom of the land and waterfalls going down to it from our top spring. There are plenty of dipping spots. There are parts of the riverbank which need gentle care-taking and some cutting back, so access is possible. There are other springs around the land and we would like to restore them to their former glory. We are vegetarian (mostly vegan) and we love to make tasty, fresh food each day, eventually this will all come from our garden. We don't drink alcohol, but there is a river bar only a 10 minute cycle ride away where the beers and wine are cheap (we have bikes you can use)!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Being part of a restoration project. We are nature awareness advocates and spend time being still listening to what nature needs. Our experience with permaculture has taught us to watch and listen to the land and make intelligent systems that flow with the land. Marla is happy to share her knowledge about medicinal plants, she loves hearing other people's stories and knowledge on this subject. She makes tinctures, creams, balms, deodorant, toothpaste and many other products in an effort to reduce plastic in our lives, as well as to have simple natural hand made and chemical free products. We love listening and hearing other peoples experiences and what makes people happy. We have found 7 springs so far on our land and restoring them to their original beauty and helping uncover them so they may flow again is one of our missions.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for all vibrant and enthusiastic people, who have energy to bring to the project. Both skilled and unskilled, as we all have our own way of seeing things and vision to add to this project. Builders, carpenters, cabinet makers, eco-builders and designers for building projects very welcome indeed and would be a great asset, as we intend to rebuild the ruins and incorporate eco building techniques. We are also looking for adaptable and energetic people for many different tasks, anything from gardening, clearing out the springs on the land, digging and uncovering the old lavada channels so the waters can flow across the land as they once did, path making, wall building and there is always cutting back of brambles!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Portugais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Bell tent and Tipi tent until some restoration projects are complete. We have mattresses to make your stay comfy. You are welcome in your own tents or vans too.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live near a beautiful big river that is a short distance away, it joins the smaller river on our land and they are plenty of swimming spots a short cycle ride away. There is one swim spot on our land and also lots of less deep dipping spots. We have a few waterfalls here too. There is also the Serra De Estrella Natural Park with beautiful mountains and rivers, a wonderful place to walk in nature. It is called Serra De Estrella, which means Mountain of Stars in English. The mountain twinkles with quartz crystal and is very beautiful.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a portable wifi box with very good signal, so when it is on you have unlimited internet access.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have put in a track at the top of our land where a large van can be parked. There is a spot further down that smaller vans can access.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 258728339746