Come and help on our small vegetable farm in Nyland, Sweden

Country

Suède

Enregistré comme favori 230 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.11.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    625

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 30 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Right now we are looking for volunteers who want to come and help out during the spring and summer of 2020.

    We are two friends in our mid-thirties running a CSA vegetable farm. We are growing a wide range of vegetables in small scale and deliver them to our members from August until January. We are working mainly by hand but some things are done with tractor.

    We are:
    Terez is a strong and straight forward person with a big heart. She has two kids and lives with them, her wife and a friend. Aside from the farm the family and their house takes a lot of her time and when there is time she enjoys outdoor life like hiking and skiing. When there is a magazine or a book in front of her she often gets lost into the text.

    Li lives with her cats and is now and then taking the train to visit friends and family. Aside from the farm she works at the library, driving the book bus around in the municipality. She spends a lot of time knitting, watching series and reading. When there is an opportunity she really loves to dance, preferably to Swedish folk music.
    For Li, a lot of the spare time is spent with the horse Mira. She is a young working horse and one of the goals is to have her helping on the farm. If you like horses you are welcome to hang with her in relation to your experiences.

    We are both interested in different kinds of yoga and meditation.

    The volunteers that come here will also meet our friends, family and pets that also lives here, during summer there are people coming and going and the village becomes more alive.

    We are social and welcoming persons and when staying here you will eat with us and/or with other volunteers. To have volunteers is one way for us to meet new people and have a social life during the summer when we are not able to travel so much because of the farm. In winter time we usually get quite a lot of snow. We enjoy skiing and try to go out skiing on the fields and in the forests as often as we can, and we are happy to lend out skiing equipment to volunteers that want to join.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in the High Coast area - one of the world heritages, a spectacular coastline and the national park Skuleskogen (the Skule forest). Very close to the farm the river runs by ready for swimmers, and there are several mountains to climb in the neighbourhood. One of them is "the Witch Mountain" where Sweden's most numerous execution took place during the witch hunts in the 17th century. There is also a "witch museum" in the village:

    The area where we live have a long and interesting history that can be explored in the village and we are familiar with and happy to tell you about some of it.
    The church in the village was built in the 13th century and has some spectacular paintings on the walls and the roof.
    Not too far away from us is the Urkult folk- and world music festival in the beginning of August.

    We like to cook and experiment with delicious vegetarian dishes. And we love to introduce our international volunteers to traditional Swedish food, such as surströmming (fermented herring), pitepalt (potato dish from northern Sweden) and ostkaka (swedish cheesecake).

  • Aide

    Aide

    Based on our experiences as hosts so far, we highly recommend volunteers to stay here for at least 4-6 weeks. Since the work is very diverse and varying, it takes quite some time to get introduced and familiar with all the routines and work tasks. Therefore we prioritize volunteers that look for a long term stay, who appreciate that this is a place where you can really get to know this area and get a close connection to nature.

    During winter and spring time (March-April 2019) our main focus is building a cold storage room for our vegetables, and starting the plant season by sowing the first seeds indoors.

    During May we are preparing the fields, taking care of the baby plants indoors and starting to sow some early vegetables like onions and carrots out in the fields.

    As a volunteer at our farm during May-August you mainly help us with taking care of the plants - weeding, watering, fertilizing etc. From August-November the work will focus on harvesting and packing deliveries to the CSA-members. There may also be some building projects going on during the spring and summer. Our farm is practicing organic farming, although we are not certified.
    We also have two horses at the farm (one for farm work and one for riding/company), so we are extra happy if volunteers have horse experience.

    The work hours can vary a lot from week to week, depending on the season. During the harvesting season we work longer than 6 hours some days, and shorter other days.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Sami: Courant
    Swedish: Courant
    German: Intermédiaire
    French: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be staying with one of us depending on us, the season and your preferences.
    Li lives by herself, it is quiet, calm and quite small.
    Terez lives with two other adults and two children.
    You may share your room with other volunteers if there are some and if you are comfortable with that.

    During the warmer season, volunteers will stay in a camping caravan at the farm. There is a small kitchen at the farm where volunteers cook their own breakfast, lunch and dinner is shared with us either at the farm or our homes.

    Both of us have WiFi/internet-connection. Shower, laundry machine and well equipped kitchen are found at our houses.

    At Terez place there is no flushing toilet, instead they use an outdoor toilet. Since the drain and sewer system is old, we are happy if volunteers don’t bring heavily perfumed soap or schampoo, to spare the ground water.

    The landscape is open and the distances are short so we can see each others places as well as the farm.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    If the pet can adjust to the accommodation we offer it is ok to bring them.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 h a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)









N° de référence hôte : 258427287961