Cultural exchange with a cork artisan in Andalucia, Spain

  • Espagne
  • Enregistré comme favori 430 fois
  • Activité récente: 8 févr. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hello traveller's.. Coming from a few years that the place where I live was full of activities and people passing around, the present moment it's more quite cause I started working in art department for films, a work that requieres me full time. Anyway between film proyectos I always have gaps of a few weeks where I come back home willing to take care of the place and profit to finish self proyect that when I work don't have the time. Before my new work I was for 8 years developing a proyect of decoration elements and furniture made out of cork.
    Although it's not my principal activity at the moment this month of October I am willing to transform all the cork barks I have in some cork sculpture and big deco elements. So if you are happy to help me with that it would be Great.
    I also need to do a few flycase of wood for my music stuff such as mixing desk, looper etc.. Also some boxes to keep my tools.
    Apart from cork and wood work I have some djmabes to build up new skins so I could show you all the process of building up a djambe
    The place with the coming of the autum needs a bit of brunch cleaning from the trees, some burning of vegetable materia, tidying up the garden.. It's a place full of fruit trees and orange.
    I am free this month of October and would need some help.
    Thank you

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Cork is an unique material that comes from the Quercus Suber tree , tipical from the meditarraneran forest.With big properties cork has been used along history. Is a sustnaible and ecological activitie that helps regeneration of meditarrenean forests. There is many to learn about this material. biocinstruccion , agriculture are some ideas ideas and uses i want to develope, so i am opened to any ideas and experimentations....
    After some day work we probably can make a good jam or a tour to some place around,...Cabo de Gata, Granada for example

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Its an easy thing and they are many diferent steps in the process to do , so depends the habilities we can organice. I use basic hand electric machines , and plenty of sand paper to finisg the pieces manually , so there is always plenty to polish. Basically there is plenty of work polishing with sandpaper . Also cuting and cleaning cork placs.
    I also started a vegetable garden and my knowledge is not so big so it would be interesting to learn about it. There are also plenty of fruit tress , and i will need to start making marmalades and find different ways to conserve fruit and vegetables. As i said is a big house and we need a good plan of cleaning.
    I also have 2 marvelous kids that come around some weekends and i would love that they learn languages or anything they can be interested at. Normally when my kids are around my time is 100% with them although they love doing most of the things i work with and they are great helpers in my day.
    Also a few dogs around.
    I must say that i had great experiences with workaways but i also had some not so good so this made me change some requires in what i expected. Principal i want people with initiative , that i don't have to push continuously to do things, that they have open eyes to see what must be done. Its a big place and always its plenty of different things to do.
    Its also important for me to feel that gests are autonomy people and they have other options in live and don't stay here eternaly , cause i am not a person that kick people away even if things don't flow. If there is a good connection you will be always welcome here in the future but its important also for me to renovate the energy . I also want to learn a lot of people.
    I prefer healthy people , in balance because i come from difficult years and i am starting an inner process of balance in my live, cleaning myself and taking care of my energy .We all have problems but i am not in a moment to be a parent of nobody.
    Also want artistic people to develop art works and common projects.
    Another require i decided to start after a few experience , although is not something i like much ,is giving a test week to see if everything works correctly with the person , if thing does not flow i am sorry but you must find some other place to go , so its important as i said before that you are autosuficient and you have another options. I hope you understand this.
    An example of a normal day in the house would be to wake up around 8 and after breakfast, we expect you to start with some cleaning activities that would take an hour. Three more hours that could be used for cork or other requires of the house like building activities, gardening, maintenance of the house and some other stuff .Due to a special electricity timetable we expect you to work an hour in the evening between 7 and 9.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    There is a free room in the house with 2 beds to share, one of them can be double size, between workaways , if you love open space there is a big garden and if you wish you can always sleep under the stars.
    We provide the breakfast and a main food share with us, you can use our kitchen to cook here and some days we will have the dinner together too. If you are used to eat between hours you should provide your own snacks. We also have some special diets requirement so we keep those products in a separated place. In your days off you should provide yourself with your own stuff to eat.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    One of the good things where i live is that we are at 1 hour aprox of the principal cities , Malaga , Almeria y Granada. I am in the door of the Alpujarras of Almeria , and there is a nice tour coming up to Granada through Orgiva. Also a fabolous place to visit is Cabo de Gata.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, that can be flexible depending of the work requirement.

N° de référence hôte : 257218246146

Feedback (6)