Help with gardening in beautiful Kent countryside, 40 miles from London

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 74 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    07.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Inscrivez-vous pour contacter cet hôte
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five with three teenage boys, two of whom are currently away at university. We are a fairly relaxed and friendly bunch with good sense of humour.

    We live in a beautiful part of Kent with a big, very steep but terraced garden, large pond and a really super 30 mile view. Our house is an old farmhouse that we are restoring; the garden needs lots of work but we are slowly making progress.

    We are only two miles from a railway station with regular trains to London which take only 40 minutes. Easy access to lots of great walks and buses and trains reaching across SE England. Fantastic historic buildings, castles, stately homes and churches all around. Half hour train ride to pick up Eurostar to Paris and Brussels and 40 minutes train to Gatwick airport with connections all over Europe. Or if you just want peace and quiet, stay at home and enjoy the view, wander through the woods adjoining our garden or paddle around the pond.

    Ideally, we would like help for about 25 hours a week assisting my husband who works from home 3 or 4 days a week, so your workload would be mostly just over the days when he is home - Thursday to Sunday. The rest of the week is yours.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I'm Australian and my husband is English. We have three sons: twins at university and one teenager at home. We also have a friendly German Shepherd dog, several ducks and chickens. I speak Japanese and would be happy to help with any language exchange there. Our son at home is learning both French and German at school. We would enjoy hearing about other cultures and lifestyles and will try to introduce you to ours: a fairly quiet life, country walks with the dog every day, regular trips to Tonbridge if you want to take the train anywhere...

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would like help in the garden to clear the pond of weeds (wearing waders), help laying fox-proof fencing around the property, mowing the grass, collecting and cutting timber from the garden for winter, cutting brambles in adjoining field, lighting bonfires and a variety of other odd jobs. You will need to be fairly fit to cope with the hill we are on.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, Japanese

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You would have your own room with 7 ft long double bed ( we are all quite tall ). One bathroom (with feeble shower!) is shared amongst all of us. We have a well stocked library if you like reading. Plenty of garden space in which to relax and dream on days off. I'm a reasonable cook and will make sure you don't go hungry. Self-serve breakfast (cereal, porridge or plenty of fresh eggs) and lunch (except when working, I will get it for you) and relaxed dinner with us in the evenings, after which we often read or watch TV or sometimes play boardgames (if you're interested).

    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ Please note we eat meat and serve meat at most dinners *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ Also NO smokers please, not even outside*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in a friendly village, but we are on the outer edge of the village, so enjoy a totally rural outlook. There are lots of lovely walks nearby. Close to historic Tunbridge Wells and convenient also to Tonbridge. Within easy access of many National Trust properties including Chartwell, Sissinghurst, Ightham Mote, Knole Park and Charles Darwin's Downe House (English Heritage). Easy to visit Penshurst Place (next village), Hever Castle and Groombridge Place too. Lots of historic churches. Plentiful wildlife including birds of prey, wild pheasants, deer, etc.

    The village has a shop, pub and garage. Active cricket club, bowls club, tennis court, and various societies and activities. There are swimming pools and sports centres within two and three miles and we have our own rowing and weights machines at home.

    Any questions or for more information, just ask.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours a week: usually in 4 days with 3 days off

Sitting room with a view
At nearby Penshurst Place
Lighting a bonfire near the pond
Someone please rub my tummy!
Vegetable patch ... in need of TLC!
Chickens and ducks waiting by the back door, hoping for some extra treats!
Sunsets here are fantastic, especially with mist in the valley
Your room
Chill out here.




N° de référence hôte : 252725562631