Help with a wooden catamaran and learn about boat life in Golfito, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 112 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    06.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *** UPDATE 26/11/2021 - ***

    General information:
    - This is a temporary project and we hope to be finished by February
    - preferably looking for workawayers who stay for only 1 week
    - we usually cannot really plan ahead more than 1-2 weeks
    - please read the living situation carefully so you know what you'll be expecting

    Hi, our names are Maurice, Carlotta and Lucy (I am the little puppy)!

    Maurice just bought a James Wharram catamaran, the most awesome catamaran ever in his opinion. It is completely built out of wood and there is a lot of work to do.
    We have pulled her out on land in the middle of October which worked semi well. So now Mariposa, the catamaran is standing half on land and half in the water (see the pictures).
    We have started working on it already and have removed the whole deck within the last 1,5 months.

    Currently we are living in Linda, the Campervan, next to the boat. This is also the only place with a kitchen and fridge right now as this part of the boat has been removed already.
    Pictures of Linda are below (: . by the way in case you are interested in a campervan: she is for sale in February (:

    You don't need specific knowledge about boats, what imports most for us is an
    - open, loving attitude
    - team vibes
    - ready to live on a construction side

    Since this is not a commercial project and rather a private life project all people who benefit to the team in any way are welcome, daily tasks where you can be helpful as well, besides the boat repairs.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The catamaran is on land in order to do the repairs, but right next to the ocean. You will live in a Marina and meet a lot of people with all kinds of boats. I have a Dinghy which can be used to drive around the bay and discover secluded places only accessible by sea.
    To ourselved, we have different educations some of these are a yoga teacher training from India/Greece and Energy healing techniques which I learned from different indigenous tribes around the Andes and the Amazonas. We are happy to share some stories, insights and hopefully some laughter and hear about stories from your journey

  • Aide

    Aide

    As mentioned most important to us is a loving, kind and cheerful vibe.

    Skills that are helpful for the team:
    - carpentry, since there is a lot of wood work to be done
    - general maintainance skills, there are three engines
    - cooking

    Right now there are many different small tasks on the boat which need to be done. From cleaning ropes to putting the boat back together and painting. Most of them are tasks you can meditate while doing them (:

    If you already know something about boats or you are an architect you will be of great help to us!

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will sleep in one of the bunks in the halls of the catamaran. Those are double beds. If you come as a couple /friends you will share a bed.
    There is no electricity on the boat left right now. During the day there is plenty of light. For the evenings we can provide you with candles.
    Wifi reaches the beds (:

    As the pulling out if Mariposa worked semi-well the catamaran is standing a little bit oblique. It didn't interrupt my sleep but just note that you will not sleep in a completely straight position. (see pictures)

    During the rebuilt the catamaran is placed in a marina. The marina offers showers and toilets.

    We'll be cooking in Linda the van and eat most of the times in the shed we've built for the repairs.

    Most times we have two meals a day which will be included for you. These meal times might change, depending what you are used to. We will decide in the beginning of the day who is in charge for food on that particular day. We will work it all out when you get here (:

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Golfito is not the greatest place to be, but it is placed right at the ocean and the jungle is all around.
    Supermarket is in a 5-10min walking distance, just as restaurants, bus stations and ATMs are. There are also basic supplies about electricity etc around.

    In your free time you are welcome to use the dhingie to explore the beaches around. (dingie= small motorboat which is used to get from the sailing boat to the shore).

    On your days off you could also travel to Osa peninsula which is close and one of the most beautiful places in Costa Rica in my opinion.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The Wifi in Marina is decent enough to work as a digital nomad from here.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    The marina has a big parking lot where campervans, cars can be parked. We are actually living in one right now.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    They are accepted as long as they get along with Lucy, the puppy on board :)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 252161726366