Beautify the land with us and help with organic garden and/or childcare in Saint Loup Lamairé, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 14 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    LOOKING FOR WORKAWAYS FOR SPRING/SUMMER 2022 BEAUTIFY THE LAND AND MAINTAIN AN ORGANIC GARDEN

    Hi :) We are Paul, Rebecca, our 3 year old, 2 dogs (Titi and Melek) and 8 chickens. We live in the countryside on about 5,700 m2 of land. We are working on house improvements (painting, refinishing the ceiling to reveal the old beams, exterior house painting, etc.) as well as preparing and tending to the garden, chickens, dogs, and small child.

    The area is truly lovely - green, calm. The Thouet River runs near the house in the valley below. Saint Loup Lamairé is 3 km away and walkable through the fields and woods. Parthenay is about 18 minutes away by car and Poitiers about 50 minutes.

    Our dream is to slowly develop the place into a space for sharing with neighbors from near and far, travelers, and other open-minded folk. There are several structures on the property we'd love to eventually convert into rooms, common spaces, etc. In short, tons of ideas - just need the time, resources, and elf hands to realize them :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Paul is French, Rebecca is American, our daughter is both. On weekends, we'd be happy to have you join us for walks or whatever outings we take (family/friends' homes, garage sales, gardens, workshops, etc.) We can teach you how to make bread, a good crepe or pancake, play basic amateur guitar, piano, or didgeridoo, or do alternating language days depending on your native language and desire to exchange.

    Paul tends to two bee hives and has extra bee gear so you could accompany him if that interests you.

    There are plenty of lovely walks nearby in the beautiful countryside. St Loup was voted 'most charming village of Deux-Sevres' in 2016 and often hosts small concerts, exhibitions, festivals. There is a weekly farmer's market in Airvault (10 minutes by car) on Saturdays. We have a kayak you could potentially use.

    We prefer no heavy, heavy drinking or smoking. Moderate is fine as long as you respect the family rhythm and young child's sleep.

    Respect, good communication, self-respect and respect of others is key. When writing us, we ask you to include a few sentences describing your relationship with volunteer work and the word COMPOST to make sure you've read this far.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We're really looking for people with specific DIY/artisan skills already in place, love helping out with children, or who are enthusiastic about a good day's activity outside.

    As of summer/fall 2022, some ideas for workawayer projects are:

    -help with our daughter / babysitting / preparing meals (i.e. taking walks with her, doing little art projects, etc while we work on projects outside nearby)
    -making a pallet bench and designing an inviting space outside by the stream (with rustic decorations, plants, rocks, etc) so that hikers and passersby can sit for a moment
    -design and build a box for a seed exchange
    -handpainting signs to label trees, provide explanations
    -preparing garden, seeding, weeding
    - design aromatic herb spiral garden as often seen in permaculture projects
    -sanding beams in living room, installing insulation
    -chipping or sanding exterior walls/refinishing them
    -helping build a bread oven and outside structure to accomodate it
    -other creative projects to beautify and personalize the space

    We could potentially host couples, families, or other situations - it depends on the time of year and proposal. With good communication, much is possible!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am perfecting my French and can help you perfect your English or teach you basic to intermediate Spanish. I am also interested in learning German but have basically no level. Paul is a native French speaker and also speaks pretty decent English and Spanish.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You'd have your own bedroom on the second floor. There are two shared bathrooms (one with a bathtub and toilet, the other just a toilet). You'd share meals with us and we'd do the cooking unless you have skills :D We don't eat much meat (once a week, twice maximu) but you're welcome to prepare your own in our kitchen at your own cost should your body require more than what we provide in daily meals.

    During the warmer months you are welcome to camp outside as well.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have a bike you can use to get to Saint Loup or Airvault and you can hitch a ride with us when we go into Parthenay, Poitiers, or elsewhere. Public transport is... sparse.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space about 200 m from the house where you could park (no electricity or water but maybe we could envision a compost toilet at the least). Campers in tents are also welcome.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Yes.... we have two dogs, one of which is a male who is not always welcoming to other male dogs. So.. we could give it a try but be aware of this caveat.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 244459974197