Family farm life on the Scottish Isle of Mull, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 156 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.01.2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Urgent help needed for our family on the lovely Isle of Mull as we have our main man recovering from surgery and would be glad of help with all the jobs he used to do!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are so lucky to live where we do...in the heart of a National Scenic Area, and surrounded by real natural beauty on all sides. For anyone with a love of the environment and history there is much to see, explore and learn. We have several ruined crofting villages nearby, and are just across the water from the island of Ulva, famous to anyone with Australian connections. Our farm contains a Site of Special Scientific Interest, which we would be happy to tell you all about. We are a traditional hill-farming family, so there will be ample opportunity to gain knowledge and hands-on experience of our work and way of life. I'm also the island vet so we sometimes have some poorly four-legged overnight guests, which could be interesting for anyone who is keen on animals. We love to make visitors welcome and would like them to leave feeling that they are part of our family.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We didn't appreciate just how many little jobs our main man in the family Josh did till he got laid up by an operation! I am working most days so we would like help with many simple things in and around the house, please, such as stacking logs (wee ones) and making kindling, lighting and stoking the fires, some cleaning, tidying, washing and cooking (nothing fancy!!), baking (baking would be amazing but not essential and in fact probably better for our waistlines not to have any!), walking, cleaning and feeding dogs, caring for our elderly wee pony, plus some lightweight farm animal care duties (nothing heavy or needing prior experience, unless someone was keen to take on some heavier duties). Depending on the season there are extra farm activities such as lambing, gathering and shearing so if someone was keen to be involved and learn that would be most welcome.
    Willingness to think up and help with some activities for my two children (aged 11 and 13) to keep them occupied and away from the TV would also be great. They love crafts and baking, and the youngest loves having stories read to her. An ability to fix wee bits and bobs, simple DIY and handiness with a paintbrush would be good but not essential, and an interest in kitchen gardening would be welcome but not at all necessary - basically we would be looking to learn a wee bit from you if you had knowledge to share, as we have bought a polytunnel and plan to put it up next spring, and have great ambitions to start a veggie garden. We'd also love to learn some new language or musical skills from you if you have some to share :-)

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We will provide either a warm comfortable static caravan, with a double bedroom, shower room, galley kitchen and living area with TV, or a traditional bothy attached to the farmhouse which has a double / twin bedroom, living room with woodburning stove, TV, and kitchen, plus a bathroom shared with the rest of the family. Occasionally, we use our shepherds huts for accommodation. There is 4G for anyone on the EE phone network, and there is limited internet access in the farmhouse. All groceries are provided. We share the farmhouse with my mother. We would ask helpers to make their own breakfast and some of their main meals in their own accommodation (usually only at weekends), with most week-day main meals shared in the farmhouse kitchen. Through previously hosting volunteers we have found this to be the best way to give everyone some private / family time and to allow for individual eating preferences. We have no great experience in cooking lovely vegetarian or vegan meals, so volunteers with these diets would be best advised to cook for themselves(!) however we would love to learn new recipes :-)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Each of the closest villages, about 9 miles either way, has a pub and shop. Tobermory, 20 miles from here, has a range of pubs and shops, a theatre and an arts centre. There is a swimming pool in Craignure, 20 miles away. Our corner of the island is very quiet(!) so unless helpers have their own transport it would probably best suit someone who likes their own company, loves to snuggle up with a good book, do an art or craft, go walking (and we have plenty of dogs who would like that!), beachcombing etc. There is a community bus which runs on a restricted timetable. We don't smoke and wouldn't expect anyone to smoke in our house or caravan, which I'm sure goes without saying. We use moderate language and rarely drink alcohol, and would prefer the same in our helper, especially as we have children.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








N° de référence hôte : 239687236786