Stay with our family and gain insight into caring for sheep and goats at our agricultural cooperative in Indian River, Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 50 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.10.2020

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey, I'm Jeanette and am taking over my family farm with my partner Katie. We have lots of fun animals on the farm including; 200 sheep, 15 goats, 4 pigs, 2 belted galloways and a water buffalo called Pat. We are young farmers who are trying to work with the land and slowly restoring certain parts to be more natural.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Traveling to our farm will give an insight to how sheep and goat farming happen in Canada. We are planting a garden for ourselves this spring with permaculture as a main focus. Our sheep are shorn once a year by myself but we will need help sorting the wool. Hay is also a fun summer project, workaways will be asked to move the hay into piles for easy loading onto the wagon. After a day of hay we will have a feast and go swimming at the river, its a very hard but rewarding task! We are also planting cedar trees to build a wind break, so there will be lots of digging.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Lambing and Kidding is upon us. We are about to have tons of cute little ones running around. We will need help with pet lambs and feeding all the Mamma's. In the spring we will be working on fence rows and getting ready to let the animals out on pasture.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Portuguese: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The accommodation we can offer on the farm is an area to set up your tent or we can provide a tent with an air mattress, blankets and pillows. We only have two tents to offer so please bring a tent if you have one. We can provide unlimited sleeping bags and blankets. The tenting area has a BBQ that is sheltered with running water. Pots and pans can be provided for cooking your own meals. No photos of tenting area because we disassembled after winter. Just waiting for the first work away to come to reset it all.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We only go into town once a week but can accomadate

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours/day 5 day/week

N° de référence hôte : 221331632545