Help our family setting up a self-sustaining smallholding in the Preseli Mountains, Wales



Enregistré comme favori 16 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    We are a family of 6, with 4 home educated children. We live near Newport, Pembrokeshire on a 4 acre smallholding in a Grade 2 listed farmhouse dating back to the 1630s.

    We moved here in 2019 and the land is pretty much a blank canvas, which is an exciting project. We plan to make the most of the land, using a nature friendly approach. There are lots of jobs to do either on the land when the weather is good, or inside when the weather is bad.

    We are using traditional materials (hot lime) and techniques on the farmhouse renovation. We plan to get a few alpacas, pigs and goats once we have set up the paddocks and animal housing. We want to also get a polytunnel and grow our own fruit and vegetables and reinstate the walled garden.

    Steve works (mostly from home) as an engineering consultant, providing safety services to high hazard industries, Tina educates the children and runs the home, as well as being a fused glass artist.

    We are a family wanting to be more self sustaining, and have some animals (for pets, and some for meat), and get the land back to being a productive smallholding for our personal consumption. The land hasn't been farmed for around 20 years, so we want to set it up to allow us to create an efficient use of our 4 acre plot. We want to investigate and apply permaculture theories and systems.

    We have 4 (friendly and inquisitive) dogs, 3 cats, 14 chickens and 4 ducks.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This area is a magical one with lots of opportunities for walking, cycling, running, surfing and wild swimming. There are numerous Neolithic sites within walking distance, ranging from the Pentre Ifan burial chamber (chambered tomb) which is the best known burial chamber in Wales, to other burial chambers such as the Carreg Coetan Arthur burial chamber in Newport. The Preseli Hills are the source of the mystical Stonehenge bluestones, as well as being a large area of the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park – you can see Snowdon in North Wales on a good day.

    There are Iron Age settlements nearby, on the summit of Carningli (Angel Mountain), as well as a reconstruction of Castell Henllys which is an iron age fort at low level.

    The North Pembrokeshire community is a very diverse and inclusive place, there are several One Planet Development places nearby, with other "off-grid" communities within a few miles, on the slopes of Carningli and the surrounding countryside.

    St Dogmaels Abbey and Coach House is a few miles away, and there is also Cilgerran Castle, a short cycle ride away.

    Bird spotting is renowned in this area, with the Nevern Estuary being home to many species. We have our own Buzzard, and regularly see (and hear) Woodpeckers and Red Kites.

    You can learn about old house restoration and history, as well as the use of hot lime (quicklime) in plastering and rendering.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We would like someone for 1 to 4 weeks, but we will review after 1 week to make sure the arrangement is working for us both.

    Tasks, generally 5 hours a day, 5 days a week from 1000-1600 with an hour for lunch (but we are flexible) could include:
    Splitting firewood
    Stacking firewood
    Removing cement render / paint
    Strimming grass / weeds
    Hedge trimming
    Building stock fencing enclosures
    Planting trees
    Helping to create a compost system
    Stripping wallpaper / preparation for decoration
    A bit of cleaning / vacuuming / mopping floors
    Cleaning out chickens and ducks

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    a 2002 Bailey Senator 4 berth touring caravan with cooking facilities as well as its own toilet and separate shower, you will be eating with us in the evenings, we will provide breakfast and lunch but where you want to eat it is up to you.

    Or a double bed in the annex - there's a separate bathroom there, which is functional (brand new shower, toilet, sink, need to be plastered, needs new window and wooden panelling completing) - if we had friends / family wanting to visit when you're here, you can stay in the caravan temporarily (we have had friends and family staying in there for 3-5 nights at a time and it gets good feedback!).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 2 miles from the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, and there are loads of footpaths and bridleways to explore. Newport is 3 miles away, Cardigan is 8 miles and Fishguard is around 10 miles. The Preseli Mountains are only a few miles away and are perfect for exploring on a bike (we can loan you one - but everywhere here is hilly!!!).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a decent 4G internet connection, which ranges from 20Mbps to 95 Mbps. We are getting Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) installed by Autumn 2021.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 217578254876