mis à jour  

Creative play and help around our family home in Chalais, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 25 fois
  • Activité récente: 23 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3:
    - Flore (41 F) is working in IT, from home most of the time
    - Babou (39 F) is a stay-at-home mom for the moment
    - Orion (7 M) is our son and a homeschooler and spends most of his time playing.

    We live in Chalais, right between Bordeaux and Angoulême, both cities easily accessible by train (we live 3 minutes away from the train station). Although Chalais is small, it has all the amenities and infrastructures needed : supermarkets, bakeries, restaurants, shops, local market, library, cinema, ... and everything can be reached on foot from our place.
    Bordeaux is one of the biggest city in France and is delightful to visit any time of year. Angoulême is mostly famous for its international comic festival hosted once a year, but it's also a pretty nice medium city where you'll find pretty much everything you need. The comics library there is just the best thing ever if you're into comic books.
    Around Chalais, there are nice rivers and lakes to bath in in summer but the only touristy place is Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, a charming village 10 minutes away.
    A bit further, and less accessible than Bordeaux and Angoulême, you can go to the Atlantic ocean (Royans, Oléron Island, Fort-Boyard, La Rochelle in Charente-Maritime or Médoc, Lacanau, Arcachon or Pila dune in Gironde), visit wineyards in Cognac or St-Emilion, or see a castle or a hundread in neighbour Dordogne/Périgord region. If you're up for a 2/3 hours trip, there are tons of very known sights such as Lascaux's prehistoric cave, medieval Sarlat-la-Caneda, Padirac cave or Rocamadour.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a family who is very used to welcoming guests, having hosted for many many years. We are looking for guests who will interact with us, eat with us, share what they like with us. It is important to note that we have a stay-at-home son, and he is definitely included in these statements. If you don't feel like interacting with a kid, there is no point in coming to our place.
    Most of our activities at home are playing board games/video games, reading, doing some creative activities like drawing or knitting, gardening in summer. We're mostly geeks, though, you've been warned :D

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We don't require much help but we'd be happy to have someone a bit like an au pair, willing to interact/play with Orion and helping with basic tasks at home.
    We might have a bit of basic home-improvement to do if you're into that (we're not but we will be happy to benefit from it :D)

    So yeah, you'll most likely be asked to play games or wash the dishes.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Japonais: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are interested in practising other languages and for guests to play and interact with our son in their own language.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a guest room with a queen-size bed. We can add a mattress if you come with kid(s). The guest room is a very standard room.
    You're welcome in every part of our home, of course! If you prefer hanging out in the living-room, that's fine with us.
    The sad thing about our place is that there is no bathtub and even the shower is pretty small.

    We eat mainly organic and don't mind providing food for our guests. We try to eat meat at most once a day. We cook a variety of meals, usually quite well :)
    If you have a special diet, we will try to accomodate you as best as we can. I think it would be inconvenient to not eat the same meal most of the times as the kitchen is small, but we won't mind it happening from time to time, or on breakfast (everyone just eats it when they get up, here).
    We're also looking forward to tasting your cuisine if it's any good :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Internet is fast here even if we're in the countryside! We can provide a small desk in the guest room. Sometimes there can be many children at home so you might need headphones to be able to work without getting disturbed. Flore is working from home 4 days/week.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is a parking across the street where bigger vehicles can stay, but I'm not sur for how long.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Between 1 and 3 hours/day, 5 days/week

N° de référence hôte : 215778164281

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Help with childminding in Aimargues, south of France
Enjoy the summer in a Gîte on the edge of Ecrins national park in a small hamlet called Les Gauchoirs, France