mis à jour  

Come and stay on a beautiful lake front acreage and help us start a farm in the Okanagan, BC, Canada

  • Canada
  • Enregistré comme favori 142 fois
  • Activité récente: 27 mai 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    Hello! I live on an lakefront acerage in between Armstrong & Vernon,

    It is me and my partner and his 17 year old daughter in the main house, with another 10 year old daughter every other week (no child care involved for workaway). I am 43 and he is 44, we are both very chilled but always very busy with projects around the property. I have spent a number of years travelling full time and I am keen to meet people from other countries and areas (I'm Scottish/Irish) my partner is Canadian. I have only lived on the acreage full time for four years and I'm just getting started on my plans for the place. The house is 12 years old so not much needs done, just some minor touch ups and repairs mostly we need help getting set up for the farming. I work from home, so I am around most of the time.

    We have a tenant who lives in a suite below the main house, he is super friendly and very interested in the farming plans, he builds race cars and demolition derby trucks in his spare time and is always happy to tell you all about what he's building if you are interested.

    We have a number of vehicles on the property from race cars to tractors, so if that is what you are interested in, there will always be something to keep you busy.

    We live in a beautiful area and like to go on trips, but there really isn't any need to go far to find something interesting. We have a trailer and a cabin cruiser boat, we live about 10 minutes from Okanagan Lake which goes all the way down to Penticton. We are about 40 minutes from Mable Lake & Shuswap lake and 30 minutes from Kalamalka Lake, all those areas are excellent for biking/hiking/boating/camping/fishing.

    The property is about 15 minutes from Vernon and less than 10 from Armstrong, the road into Armstrong is beautiful and a haven for bikers, I can cycle there in about 25 minutes and I'm not that fast (you can borrow our bikes). There is no public transport but we are in "town" most days for something, so can provide rides and there is lots of transport from there, although I think you could take better advantage of the area if you had your own vehicle.

    We have kayaks, canoe and aluminum boat that can be used and there is a boardwalk to get into the lake.

    We are 35 minutes from Silverstar, so coming to stay with us might be a good stop gap between summer and winter jobs if you are planning to do a ski season, we are also within driving distance of Big White & Sunpeaks.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will be learning how to start a farm along with me! There is a host of knowledge here, from running businesses to construction, farming, mechanics, engineering & carpentry, we also welcome your own big ideas, we are just starting out so creative minds are welcomed!

    Both me and my partner are big foodies and love to cook and try new things, we are both into movies and music and generally just enjoying life.

    There is always lots to do, so expect at least one other workawayer at the same time

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Mostly I just need extra pair of hands to help with the farming prep work. Any construction or farming experience would be awesome. If you like cooking and gardening even better! We are very flexible and there is a lot of work to be done, so you can let us know what you are interested in or any ideas for projects.

    I am very flexible on the hours you work, if you want to do them all in a few days and have the rest of the week off it is fine with me.

    Mostly it will be land clearing, gardening, general maintenance.

    The big project this year is to build a dock out onto the lake.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Your accommodation would be in a trailer on the property. It is very comfortable, spacious and clean. It has 2 bedrooms and a large living area, and a decent sized kitchen. One bedroom is a double, the other is a triple with bunk beds, the couch and sofa also turn into beds, I would say it could comfortably fit 4 people, 5 if you were very good friends! There is outdoor furniture with a gas fire pit and a BBQ. We are very easy going, so don't mind music and having a good time. No restrictions on weed or cigarette smoking as long as it's outside and not bothering your fellow workawayers. You would also be welcome to chill out on our deck or anywhere around the property. We have a fire pit right in the middle of the garden and often have that going in the evenings. You would have access to the house for laundry and anything else you need. There is also a large hot tub that you can use.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are just tons of things to do in the area, anything lake related, the cycling is excellent, there are beautiful hikes to be done in very direction. Loads of vineyards and organic living. Vernon is a reasonable sized town with plenty to do and there are many places close by to go camping. I go to Kelowna about once a month but there really isn't any need as Vernon has pretty much everything available. Armstrong is an awesome small town and people are very welcoming.

    If you are interested in getting a part-time (paid) job nearby, you will have lots of options as there is a major shortage of workers in the Armstrong area.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Yes, we have Starlink, so internet is pretty fast. Starlink is now metered, its fine for regular use from multiple people, including Netflix, video calls etc., however if you need to do crazy amounts of downloading please go to McD's or the library!

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Any size, I have hookups for Water, Sewer & Electricty

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    I have 3 dogs, two born Nov 2020 one is a Bernese Mountain Dog and one Bernese/Maremma and one 14 year old lab, I have 7 acres and there is another field attached to my property which is fully open of about 20 acres and a reserve across the creek, so loads of room to roam. I have had a number of workawayers with dogs and it has worked out well and there are 3 cats on the property (not in the house) they are generally outdoor and are dog smart! Due to the lake we also get a ton of wildlife here, we have resident eagles, lots of coyotes passing through and often see bears and wolves, and lots of Otters.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 213359248581

Feedback (5)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Rejoignez-nous en tant que volontaire en Colombie-Britannique au sein de notre coopérative, hors réseau, Canada
Come experience the beauty of Salt Spring Island, Canada