Help me to de-clutter and with some gardening at my home in Pembroke, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 190 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.07.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    74

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am definitely not taking anyone for July and August and possibly the rest of the year.
    I have asthma so intend to 'shield' for as long as it takes to feel safe. From what I have seen regarding many people's behaviour, I don't anticipate feeling safe for a long time.

    I live 250 miles from London; If you don't mind a long journey, you can get a coach from London Victoria for as little as £10 single.

    My home is a wonderful 250 year old Georgian townhouse in Pembrokeshire where I offer bed and breakfast in a few of my rooms mostly in summer. The house is large so always something to clean, tidy, repair or paint.

    If you contact me:
    Tell me what you can do.

    I keep receiving requests which are simply copies of emails sent to multiple hosts and when the Workawayer realises where I live, they then don't want to travel or they have no skills (sometimes enthusiasm and a will to figure things out is fine). Please don't waste your time or mine. I respond quickly, usually the same day.

    I especially need help in the garden soon, helping in the kitchen vegetable garden, general pruning and tidying etc..

    Mature workawayers are especially welcome (many Workawayers apologise for being older, I welcome you) I regret it is unlikely that you have the skill sets needed if you're under 22.

    Someone able to do DIY, wood repairs, paint a wall and door etc wanted especially. If you are able, I will consider a longer term stay doing general maintenance.

    Those with good levels in Carpentry, lime stone walling, plumbing etc especially welcome.

    The house takes a lot of upkeep and decorating but there is also a large garden which always needs tasks doing though I am most concerned to repair the old limestone walls and brickwork.

    The garden has improved with the help of Workawayers last summer, a push this year will get it back on its beautiful track which is why I am now hoping for help fixing the walls not just clearing vegetation, but that is necessary too. I am happy to have two people helping in the garden at one time, if you are happy to share a room.

    Help also wanted organising and sorting out the house, I need to put lots of things on ebay etc. I'm downsizing.

    I regret, I cannot make food for vegetarians, you would need to cook for yourself though of course I will supply the funds for your shopping. Gluten free is fine.

    ** During summer, I offer B&B when I'm in the mood. I'm semi retired so most of the time there won't be any paying guests. For insurance and health and safety reasons, I am the only person who cooks or deals directly with them. They will be on a totally different floor of the house. If you do assist me with the business, you will be paid, but please do not choose to come here thinking you will make lots of money, that would give a totally false impression. I deal with guests, you will be helping me keep this beautiful house and garden beautiful.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la maison
    Projet artistique

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Wales is beautiful. This house and the area are steeped in history. Pembroke Castle is an ancient monument as are the town walls. There are many castles nearby. The marine life along the coastline is diverse and would be of interest to those so inclined. The nearest beach is 4 miles away, others 7-10 and many more further away. The Pembrokeshire Coastal Path was voted No. 1 in the WORLD by Lonely Planet.

    Fantastic walking, hiking, fishing, coasteering, canoeing and surfing, all within easy reach.
    Not sure what you can learn from me but you can certainly learn from the area.

    These days, I am semi retired and my business just covers some household expenses so you will not be earning money. But I will be offering excellent accommodation and food and you will have lots of free time to explore and take advantage of the area. I promise I'm no slave driver but would expect happy help for the times agreed.

    I would consider having you stay for several weeks, usually only once we have met, but if you have good reviews I will consider longer. You might want to get a paid job nearby and stay a while, we can see.

    I will do my best to assist you in your spoken English language and will take time to do so.
    My main interest is in WW1. I enjoy making things, especially millinery, beading, simple sewing, reading. If you are creative that will be great. Sharing knowledge and interests. If you can use a sewing machine, this could be useful. I really admire creative people and those who are good at something, whatever that may be.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

  • Aide

    Aide

    If you are younger than 22, please do not apply. Thank you.

    PRIORITY: I NEED
    June gardening but also:
    Someone able to do basic home maintenance .
    CARPENTRY,
    LIME STONE WALLING,


    PLUMBING
    ORGANISER/DECLUTTERER
    AN ARTIST TO PAINT A MURAL.


    I have availability for up to 3 Workawayers.

    The house is historically listed so painting etc has to be done well. Little and large repair jobs are always waiting in a house like this and someone who is observant and proactive will find an appreciative host.

    A small mural needs finishing and I'd love one in another room.

    Cleaning, ironing etc and in help to tidy the house is always welcome. I really want to declutter. If you are a neat and tidy person, you may be able to help me achieve what I alone have not.
    Man or woman, whoever has an orderly mind. Also knows how to sell on eBay.

    My business is tiny, I offer informal personal service, you won't have to be invisible while here. I particularly need help in the house in July and August and would be happy to arrange a 2 month stay.

    Your help and effort will be appreciated, you will be treated with respect and I expect honesty and decency in return.

    My reviews are excellent, if you are fair with me, I will be more than fair with you, I like to have a happy home so we all have a positive experience.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The arrangement is that you help 5 hours for 5 days and have 2 off. I will do my best to take you out at least once during your stay. I understand that many hosts only offer a caravan or a tent or an outhouse. My offer is of a beautiful room inside an exceptionally beautiful house, quality food and I will treat you with respect and appreciate your help. Quality work in exchange please.

    Own room or shared if a couple, possibly sharing a bathroom/possibly private bath, depending on business. Rooms are large, nicely decorated, comfortable, most have tv, all have kettle, hand basin, quality linen etc.. Wifi. The house is beautiful. There is an AGA in the kitchen which is ever ready to make food and the kitchen is always warm.

    VEGETARIANS AND VEGANS PLEASE NOTE:
    I cannot make separate meals and I definitely eat meat, you can have the money to shop and cook for yourself, I want you happy.

    Generally I do the cooking for dinner, but you can show me your signature meals if you have any.
    Make your own breakfast and lunch.

    I'm quite extrovert and happy to chat over meals but often by evening like to read or watch TV without much conversation. Netflix and chill! I would not want you to feel lonely, but you might be alone quite a bit if only one Workawayer here. Conversing in another language can be very tiring so you may be glad for the silence! I prefer helpers who are confident enough to venture out, use buses and trains without needing me. I don't want you to be unhappy and bored always waiting on me.

    I will supply: a dressing gown, bedding, towels, shower gel, soap, bubble bath, shampoo, conditioner.
    I supply gardening gloves, and goggles and a hard hat if necessary and tools for jobs.

    YOU WILL NEED SENSIBLE INDOOR SHOES OR SLIPPERS. NO FLIP FLOPS.
    If gardening you will need sensible shoes/boots and or wellingtons and clothes which can get dirty and a jacket or coat which can withstand showers.
    No smoking in the house nor alcohol.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I can offer advice on the cheapest ways to travel to Pembrokeshire, a hidden gem. It is 250 miles from London, please don't contact me if you don't know you will need to travel.
    There are 15 pubs in Main Street, few you will wish to frequent!! I like films, cinemas are about 15 miles away, I go if anything interesting is showing. A local pub shows old films on Mondays, you can order a pot of tea or nice coffee and watch free. There are nice cafe's serving breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea, one serves dinner too. Several take-aways Chinese, Indian and Pizza. There is a nightclub open Friday and Saturday nights. Pretty walks by the Mill Pond and around the town walls.
    Pembroke Castle is well worth a visit. This area has many castles.
    Fantastic surfing beach at Freshwater West, lessons can be arranged. Many of my Workawayers have loved to surf.
    Tenby is a very popular, pretty, seaside town, 20 minutes away by train, or 50 mins by bus.
    There is a good theatre and cinema in Milford Haven, using the bus, you can only get to and from afternoon performances. There is a pretty marina and some nice shops, an art gallery and places to eat. On your day off, if you go early, you can look around, have some lunch, watch a film, get the last bus and be home for dinner.
    Historic area with fantastic Jurassic coast nearby. Buses within a minute or few minutes walk, local train 4 minutes walk away (Swansea to Pembroke Dock.) I can occasionally take you by car to nearby towns but I do not have the use of a car daily so I regret, you cannot rely on me for much visiting of the area.
    There is a theme park about 8 miles away with one of the few remaining wooden roller coasters in the world.
    Nighttime and winter public transport is frankly pathetic. In summer, daytime public transport around the coast is good.
    If you have transport or can get a lift, you can go further west. St David's is the smallest city in the UK but has a spectacular cathedral and some nice shops and good places to eat. Yet more wonderful coastline. I love the Pentre Ifan stones which are near Fishguard, a mini Stonehenge.

    Cardiff is just under 2 hours away by car or 3 1/2 hours by train and a bus at 9am daily a few yards from the house. London = 2 trains 5 1/2 hours. There is a coach which takes 7 hours 20 mins (Megabus to Pembroke Dock) and if you book ahead can cost as little as £5! Leaves London Victoria at 5pm daily. I can collect you at the ferry terminal in Pembroke Dock. (Pembroke and Pembroke Dock are two different towns about 2 miles apart.)
    If you surf, Freshwater West is a great place, or you can get lessons and use of equipment for about £35. Great rock climbing and beautiful coastal and inland walks. If you're energetic and live the outdoors, this is a wonderful area.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Rob cleared and turned over the kitchen garden. Great work.
That area had been a meadow which Rob tamed.
Canan, ironing goddess.
At the National Arboretum. A service for VC winners commemorating those born outside the UK for the Centenary of the start of WW1.
Sadly, I love Magnums!
Pentre Ifan. Wonderful bluestones like the ones which top Stonehenge. (They were taken from the Preselli Mountains to Stonehenge. ) I love this place. About 50 minute drive away.
Tenby, pretty little seaside town nearby.
My home and part of the main garden terrace.
Part of the slate terrace overlooking the ruin.
Part of the kitchen terrace with ruin to the left and cellars on right. Against the ruin is a large fig tree.
Pembroke Castle.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













N° de référence hôte : 212798177876