mis à jour  

French-English family on the East Coast of Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 23 fois
  • Activité récente: 14 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a lively family (2 adults and one 9 year old) who spend a great deal of time preparing whole foods, swing dancing, making music, talking philosophy, gardening, biking , saunaing and socializing. We have hosted guests through bnb and workaway as well as always having a housemate. We value sharing an intentional low impact life and learning about other cultures and lifestyles.

    From July-September we are off from school and spend more time at home. We work hard on projects and then prioritize swimming and canoeing in nearby lakes, waterfalls and beaches. There are always potlucks or parties to attend in our welcoming and extensive community. We host a community sauna each week and we often share meals with friends and family.

    Selah works in the non profit sector and Bruno works as a French language high school teacher. You will often hear music in the house, either recorded or live. There is a great opportunity to practice French and English with adults and children.

    We have many projects that we can use help with such as gardens, beehives and house painting to name but a few. We're always grateful for childcare as well.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have a great deal of knowledge concerning whole food preparation, Holistic nutrition, drumming and French and English language. We can teach you the basics of Lindy -Hop Swing dancing.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our major project that we need help with this summer, is painting the exterior of the house. It first needs to be scraped so we'll need all the help we can get, preferably from someone who has done this before. We can always use help in the gardens (weeding, watering, planting, harvesting). There are always jobs in and out of the house, small carpentry jobs, painting, cleaning, chores, food prep (for the family and yourself) and occasional childcare if that is your thing.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A single bed in a private room. Shared bathroom and living space. Access to sauna. We love to share evening meals or guests can prepare a meal themselves from the ingredients here and in the garden.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our town is filled with wonderful opportunities to enjoy being outdoors. There is a great long distance bike trail very close by for extended day trips and a variety of mountain biking and hiking trails within walking distance. We are often adventuring to lakes, rivers, beaches and waterfalls for swimming and canoeing and are always happy for guests to come along. There are festivals in the surrounding areas all throughout the summer

    We have a delightful library if you need a quiet place to work online, a weekly downtown farmers market with high-quality vendors, and a beautiful cider craft brewery. There is an abundance of excellent food available at a variety of local farmers markets.

    We live in a small home (by today's North American standards), so we aim to be tidy, organized and minimal about acquiring stuff. We try to clean up every evening so we can start fresh the next day. We do not own a TV and prefer to spend our time reading or working and playing at our various projects and passions. We are very purposeful with our time and prefer to surround ourselves with others who enjoy being purposeful as well.

    We use one car and try to be organized about traveling so that we minimize it's unnecessary use. However trips for swimming are prioritized during our short but beautiful summer.

    We are allergic to artificial fragrances and keep an unscented home. We ask that guests use unscented body care and laundry products which are easy to find locally.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accommodate a small camper van in the driveway and there is an outdoor plug. We don't have any experience with this arrangement yet but are open to learning.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 211324855429

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Aidez à construire une géonef en Colombie-Britannique du nord au Canada
Help our family around our home in a small Decourcy Island and experience Canadian off grid life