Join our family and help in the household in the Glass House Mountains, Queensland, Australia



Enregistré comme favori 7 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Description


    Hi! My name is Caroline, and my family consists of my husband Ambor and primary aged daughter Elysia. We love animals and have a dog, cat and guinea pig as pets currently (pictured). We live in the Scenic Glass House Mountains, on 1.5 acres, aiming towards self-sustainability and 'green living'. We love the outdoors and enjoy travelling both domestically and internationally.

    We mind our language -especially around my daughter - so no swearing and we avoid negative phrases. (Can't/don't) We believe in being positive and a can do mindset. We are non-smokers, and don't drink a lot either. We are not a party household, but do have a grand fire-pit for entertaining, which doesn't see enough use. Husband is FIFO - so you may not even get to meet him, although my daughter makes up for that in friendliness.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My location is very peaceful and calming. We live among the Glass House Mountains and there is plenty of bushwalking -though the mountain national park beside our house is currently a no-go zone due to rock instability. There are other mountains for hiking, mountain bike riding and rock-climbing too!

    We do plenty of learning activities - my daughter enjoys history so we visit historical villages, go to festivals (mostly free events) and are out and about a lot! Most of our activities you are welcome to join us with - watching my daughters extra-curricular activities, coming with us to our weekend events whatever they may be. We also have a bunch of board games which don't see enough use -we would love to play them more often.

    I have spent time in many other countries and have a certificate in teaching English - so am happy to assist with your language learning. We are also learning Auslan (Australian sign language) which you are welcome to help us learn as you learn it yourself!

    We love saving wildlife and anything to do with animals! We see a reasonable amount of animals in and around our property, including water dragons, (I want to encourage more!), frogs, the odd snake, (they don't worry us), bats, many birds including kookaburras -who we feed, magpies, blue-faced honey eaters, rainbow lorikeets, king parrots and more. We have even had a Kangaroo visit in the national park!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Mostly domestic and gardening, such as cooking meals, school lunch preparation, animal meals, vacuuming, sweeping and dusting (inside and out -cobwebs!!). Also keeping the kitchen clean, bathroom cleaning at times and other random cleaning jobs like that. Maintenance of your composting toilet is simple and awareness of the rain tank.
    Gardening includes stick collection, mowing, weeding, some planting and watering. Some child entertainment - my daughter loves to put on 'shows', and 'playing' with her - art & craft, trampolining, bike-riding? She also does 'chores' for money - which require assistance; such as washing the car, windows etc - generally this means you clean after her 'clean' without her realizing and motivating her to finish the 'chore'.
    Random one-off jobs may arise - such as a stick spiking through a raintank inlet requiring flyscreen to fix it, moving a bird feeder, adding to my daughters tree-hut if she comes up with an idea to do so, and house-hold maintenance -changing lightbulbs, installing shelves or putting up pictures etc.
    Possibly leaf-blowing the driveway and firepit area, if you feel comfortable on the roof, then clearing the gutters as required.

    If you have creative ideas, we am very flexible! I am keen on installing frog ponds, more wild-life nestboxes etc or if you have a green thumb and can get more plants growing -that would be awesome!

    Musicians welcome - come and play, teach us, we have an un-tunable (yet still playable) piano, a guitar, ukelele's and other percussive paraphernalia and my daughter loves to sing and dance.

    There is possibly not a large amount of work to be done, so you may find you have plenty of spare time. There is plenty of space to be mindful and meditate or simply get grounded.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Japonais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    You accommodation consists of a self-contained unit, which has a double bed (and a futon couch also), with a kitchenette. (All internal accom pics are of the SCU.) The shower is non-filtered rain water and the toilet is a special composting toilet which is simple to use as well as to maintain. Any products going into it and/or going down the sink must be environmentally friendly. There is no TV signal, however there is a DVD player and TV with options to connect your own device to it. We have plenty of DVDs which you are welcome to borrow also.

    We live in the main house where you are welcome to use the washing facilities - no dryer - we use the wind and sun for that! And if there are any problems in the SCU, bathroom facilities as well. The kitchen is also for your use - We would love you to cook your country meals for us to try, and learn about them. We have no food restrictions/allergies - though are healthy, mindful eaters. We don't eat a lot of red meat, but happy to do so, should it be cooked for us! There is also free to air TV, DVD/VHS players however we don't spend a lot of time on screens.

    We have only rain tank water, so are mindful of our usage. No town water or sewer supply, we have an eco-system which means being careful of the product usage going into our greywater system -which ultimately waters our grounds. We use solar power as much as possible.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Helpers MUST love all animals - including snakes (I have relocated a few carpet pythons!), spiders (we have a live and let live policy), birds as well as our pets. (Cows live next door and visit on occasion too!) You are allowed to not be a fan of cane toads and mosquitoes- those are the only animals we discourage on our property.

    Having your own transport would be advisable as the local supermarket is at least 5kms away and there is no transport here, other than me. (Though if I am available, I am happy to drop off / pick up). A bike (motor-bike or push-bike) is fine, if you fit mine, you are welcome to use it! The train station is also ~5kms away. I have walked it a few times so its not a bad walk either.

    The coast is about 30mins away (everything seems to be mostly 30-40mins drive), though our main little townships have most things you could need anyway.

    There is a lot of things in the Hinterland to see and do; Australia Zoo is just up the road and recommended. Montville is lovely, and there are some great look outs as well. Ewen Maddock Dam is not far away either for a dip when it's hot! (If the coast or salt water is not to your liking.)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    In the accommodation, our wifi doesn't reach well. If you have data on your phone or have a portable internet device and with a strong provider - Telstra / Optus, your own is recommended. In the house, you are welcome to use ours, however data and speed is limited as we use satellite NBN so streaming of music or videos is unsupported. You can use your own wifi in the house though for these services.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    This is possible depending on the size of your portable camper.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    This depends on the pet and how well trained and other animal friendly it is. Indoor pets are acceptable, others may depend on how well they can get along with my animals and the wildlife. My dog is not so dog-friendly, my cat was not so cat-friendly as a kitten.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 197616558713