Off-grid life in Silver Valley, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 43 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.09.2021

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello helpers.

    We have an established 4.2 acre organic sub-tropical permaculture farm in the heart of Ravenshoe town- the “highest town in QLD”. We have chickens,turkeys, a cat and two beautiful children- aged 3 and 7. We run a thriving Community Gardens only a short walk from our 4.2 acre permaculture farm.

    We are not having people come to stay at our house and sub-tropical permaculture farm during the pandemic. I have somewhere else that you can stay It is on my off-grid bush camp in Silver Valley which is 20 mins from our house/sub tropical permaculture farm.

    It is a very different climate to the permaculture farm- Silver Valley is dry eucalypt country. It is rugged but beautiful. There is a river that is walking distance to swim in. There is very minimal facilities though. There is running cold water. There is a shower with only a small amount of hot water but there is a hot springs 8 minutes down the road for bathing.

    I have a small solar system, a gas stove and benches and shelves. There is also a recently renovated caravan for a bedroom. It is like fancy camping.

    I could offer this place for 2 weeks. If it feels good for all of us after that then you could stay for longer. The work would be to do there on that land and also on our permaculture farm 20 minutes away from Silver Valley. Because the facilities are not as nice as our house, then we just ask for 20 hours per week helping, instead of 25. Included in this are all of your meals.

    You are welcome to come and hang out at our house some days, and use the more modern facilities.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Bénévolat
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our 4.2 acre permaculture farm is in the heart of Ravenshoe. There is full mobile reception. You can walk into town very easily from here. It is also a 5 minute walk to swim in the Millstream River.

    I am passionate about plants and herbal medicine. We love foraging for wild foods. I am establishing a hobby nursery selling and exchanging medicinal and culinary herb plants.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Come and learn and grow with us. We need help with weeding, mulching, pruning, mowing, compost making, fertiliser making, sewing seeds, working chopping wood, establishing the plant nursery, caring for the chickens…. etc etc. If you are a more skilled worker then I would love help building and fixing tools and things. If your strong and keen I always have trenches to dig....

    Because we are homeschooling (with Steiner method) and I am also doing my Bachelors Degree and managing two properties, if anyone loves kids and wants to sometimes do fun activities and projects, drawings or songs etc with my 7 year old daughter, this is always welcome. It takes a lot of pressure off me. Help with cooking and cleaning is always gratefully received if you like doing these things!

    I would like helpers to contribute around 5 hours work a day, 5 days a week each (this does not include cleaning up after yourself/doing general housework.


    Thank you!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    This is not a party house, we are ok with the occasional drink but nothing too wild. This is a family home. Smokers welcome though all smoking is outdoors.



    We eat 95% organic, and strive to eat all local organic produce. We do eat local free range meat/dairy products but am happy to accommodate for vegan/vegetarian diet.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    See above

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We just use our mobile phones to hotspot- we do not have wifi. But I can get wifi connected if this is very important. I have a desk you can use to work at.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space to park a very large bus/caravan/motorhome etc.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Pets on application.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 193959237399