Family living a low impact life in North East, Scotland, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 178 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a warm and friendly family who live in Speyside, Moray NE Scotland in an idyllic and tranquil valley at the foot of Ben Rinnes, Moray's highest mountain. We are surrounded by wildlife and natural beauty and have spectacular views of the dark night sky.

    We are vegetarian, practice permaculture, no-dig gardening and living a simple life. We work from home as foster carers and have our own small business, a quirky holiday home, built using the local, plentiful and renewable materials of wood, straw, stone, earth, lime and clay.

    We love our space, it's pretty special. We would like to invite Workaway volunteers to join us to make it even more special. Each Workaway we have hosted has left their own legacy as we encourage creativity and embrace diversity!

    We usually take volunteers from March to October, however as we are planning to replace our well-loved static caravan with a yurt for our volunteers, it may be considerably later, if at all in 2021, due to so much uncertainty!

    The projects we would like to get started on in 2021or 2022, include replacing the static caravan with a yurt or something similar but more permanent, re-designing the growing space to capture more sun and extend our short growing season. Our fun projects include adding a live willow playhouse in the Fairy Glen, and if time permits, getting started on the outdoor kitchen.

    We are keen to host volunteers who have some experience of building yurts, permaculture and live willow structures, but enthusiasm and energy are also a real bonus! As we only have a caravan for our volunteers and want to replace it, it would be ideal to host volunteers with their own traveling accommodation.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a Scottish family living a low impact life and would be happy to share our passion for eco/heritage building, low impact living, local food and Scottish culture with volunteers. I like to listen to our volunteers and find out what they would like to learn and share, then work up a schedule from there.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would love to host people with experience in permaculture, eco-building and making live willow structures, and anyone who would enjoy being part of a nature loving family for a month or so, and helping us to build an outdoor kitchen, muck in with gardening and outdoor tasks and share the communal cooking. We welcome creative ideas to make our space even more magical with fairy houses and hidden wonders! We also welcome help with the shared home cooking and breadmaking.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    German: Débutant
    Spanish: Débutant
    French: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We intend to replace the static caravan with a wooden yurt or similar next year so we may be much later accepting volunteers. We have a bell-tent though, so it may be possible to host a volunteer in the bell tent to help build the yurt! Accommodation will be off-grid with a wood-burning stove and simple cooking facilities. The toilet and shower facilities are in our house, a very short distance from your accommodation. We may build a compost toilet and shower block at some point. There are laundry facilities on site and we are approx 5 miles from the nearest shops. We have bicycles available to use.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Moray Speyside has lots to see and do from hills to coast, walks, outdoor activities, whisky trails, beautiful beaches, stunning countryside and an abundance of wildlife on your doorsteps. The nearest city is Elgin with Aviemore, Inverness and Aberdeen our closest neighbours.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a large car parking area with access to electricity and fresh water.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Minimum expectation is 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Flexible with days and hours.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













N° de référence hôte : 193436977655