Découvrez l'agriculture bio et la vie hors-réseau dans notre ferme à Tarragone en Catalogne, Espagne

Country

Espagne

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 1285 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    46  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    16.05.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    35

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    98.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    If you are looking to come stay on the farm as a Workaway please skip down to the base paragraphs. If you are looking for a long term opportunity to build something significant with my dad please read "Exciting Opportunity"

    Exciting Opportunity;

    No prior experience required, full training, development and education will be `provided, you just need to bring the energy, desire and passion for land regeneration and sustainable agriculture with a view to developing a world class olive oil and model for regenerative agriculture.

    Regenerative Farming Business Development Entrepreneur required to assist in developing and commercializing a world class, Organic First Press, Small Batch, Boutique, Olive Oil.

    My Dad, Wes, is passionate about sustainable agriculture and soil regeneration, he is highly educated in this regard and has a vision for our farm to establish a model and blueprint for regenerative farming globally. We aim to educate and inspire others to follow and embrace this model to assist in revolutionising and reverse desertification of land which has been negatively impacting our environment. As part of this process we want to use the olive oil as a representation of what is possible when you apply this farming model.

    There is huge potential on the farm to develop a profitable business both through the sale and commercialization of our world class olive oil as well as developing a training and education centre for those who align with our vision of nurturing the soil as a basis for the healthy future of humanity and our environment. We believe this all begins with healthy soil.

    We also want to develop and introduce a chicken tractor concept, no burning, and all small branches and leaves woodchipped as part of the mulching process.

    There is an opportunity to develop your own oasis on the farm and a self sustainable lifestyle. We plan to construct an earthship / natural abode using local materials and resources available on the farm. Currently there is a lovely caravan tucked away with an attached fly free porch area, associated hot water outdoor shower and composting toilet. The farm is located 2.5 hours by train south of Barcelona and 10 minutes from the town of Flix. Roads to the farm are tarred and accessible all year round. There is the potential for a vehicle to be provided when required for your own use.

    If this is of interest to you please direct message Wes, my dad, to understand the opportunity. We are also still looking for Workaways to assist in the development of the farm as below:


    Workaway:

    So I am writing this opening passage for and on behalf of my father. He is in his 70's and is a total dude. When he says plural below it is actually singular, as he lives alone on the farm. The "We" would be me - (his son and him). I live just south of Los Angeles near Newport Beach and visit him on the farm a couple of times a year and he also visits with me in California a few times a year. I bought the farm as a gift to him for being such an awesome DAD ! He is old school, fair, honest and beyond reproach, in my opinion at least. We are South African born and bred and moved to Europe in the early noughties. The house is pretty basic. But totally charming and has an energy that is completely restorative. I can never spend enough time here...

    My dad has little patience for "dossers" - I am sure this is a universally understood term. If you come to the farm, please be a respectful, good person as my dad fits this description also. There is so much to do on the farm in terms of the help we need. It is a massive project and completely beyond the scope of one persons time and energy. So if you come, any contribution is appreciated - pruning / clearing / gathering and chopping firewood / cooking / cleaning etc etc - any specialist skills are always hugely valued: carpentry, plumbing, electrician, builder - I am sure we could consider some payment for services when it comes to these kinds of skills.

    Barcelona, my favourite city in the world is around 2 and a quarter hours away by train and the ticket is about 14 euros. Train is really good - not crowded with a/c. I take it sometimes to come out to the farm when I fly in to Barcelona. So its totally doable to overnight in Barca or daytrip in from the farm. I am sure my dad would be cool dropping you off at the station. There are some amazing beaches around an hours drive from the farm also. A couple of wineries up in the hills to visit for wine tasting and vineyard tours also. Local shops are around 15 minutes away and there is a decent little town called Flix.

    My dad is pretty chill and does his own thing, the house is big enough to not be in each others space all the time. Olive harvest season starts beginning of November and can run until early January - this is a spiritual experience, we manually harvest using nets and a battery driven leaf agitator. My dad is a real custodian of the land and treats every tree as though it was his own child ! We are completely organic and produce the best, first press, olive oil from 4-600 year old trees. This is where my dad needs the most help and it is such an experience being involved in this process from harvest to press. I am sure my dad will ensure you have ample bottled olive oil to take with you as a memento. So if there is a group of you and you are nice people who want to be part of this experience then please get in touch. Drinking wine with friends after a hard days work out on the rocky deck overlooking the farm around an open fire is soul food for sure.

    My dad has met some really decent people through this network and I would like to think that the farm, feeling of tranquillity and the re-calibration of what matters in life is sometimes is a good take away for those who visit. You don't need a lot to live a full life - this place is testament to that.

    If you are heading to the west coast and have connected with my dad, then I am sure we would also get on well so look me up if you are ever in L.A. - the rest from my pops below:

    We are responsible organic farmers concerned about nature, bird and animal life, preservation of the soil biology and care of trees which on average are over 400 years old. I feel we have a different approach to normal aspects of agriculture. A few examples is our reverent approach to pruning olive and almond trees, to coax them from vegetative to productive growth. Minimal harm to the natural environment, seeking meaningful and trusting relationships with volunteers and our surrounding community while building a strong sustainable farming framework.

    Our climate, soil conditions, infrastructure and organic farming is ideal for growing and drying medicinal disease curing herbs. Many are planted but also identifying natural wild growing medical herbs. If we can keep the wild boar, rabbits and deer out as they know what is good and healthy to eat!!

    The area has been hunted for generations and the hunters have respected my request not to hunt on our farm and to allow restoring of wild life. After 2 years we have seen the first pair of partridge on the Finca, So stopping the hunting is starting to show positive results. We have finally been registered as a nature reserve!!

    The Masia is quiet, peaceful, clean, neat and tidy home.

    If necessary, one can read more about my background on request.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Organic farming, soil biology, caring for each other and nature, off grid living, improve one's overall skills and learn to live closer to nature.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    15ha organic almond and olive farm, pruning trees, trimming out the fire wood, training given. General building and repairs, Building a lapa (outdoor shower/composting toilet extension). Developing the garden and landscaping. Need helpers for Olive harvesting in November and December.

    We are hoping to attract a landscape architect, tree surgeon, plumber or a builder/carpenter

  • Langues parlées

    Afrikaans: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Bed room in house with gas heating and a large fire place for those chilly winter nights. Hot private out door shower. Beautiful floor tiling throughout. Nice bedrooms with flush toilet and wash hand basin in shower room (shower not connected yet) Each room has locks for security. Well fitted kitchen including spacious dining area for up to 10 people making for pleasant social evenings.

    There are flights to Reus or Barcelona and trains to Flix where I will collect if required.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We provide food and all pitch in to cook.

    we have solar power and internet, We are high up with magnificent 360 degree views.

    Week ends are free and there is an excellent train service going off in various directions and Barcelona is a 2hr train ride from here.

    The Sebes Nature Reserve is about 3 miles away on the banks of the Ebro river and this is a good area for hiking and mountain biking or just simply relaxing and bird watching.

    This place is for those who enjoy a quiet, peaceful, orderly, clean home and would like to try living off grid, in nature.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)






























N° de référence hôte : 192512645846