Help convert a 110ft Japanese fishing vessel into a vibrant living space in Auckland, NZ

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

Enregistré comme favori 244 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (a kiwi/british couple) are on a mission to convert an 110ft Japanese fishing vessel into a floating community, in order to travel the world by sea with as many awesome people as possible! We're currently based round the islands near Auckland but we're hoping to be ready to go offshore in May 2021, heading to the Pacific islands.

    We are a very open-minded, inclusive, diverse & outgoing bunch, and we invite you to be part of our family, even if it's just for a short while. We sit down for meals together every day, and after dinner we usually play games or watch movies.

    The ideal workawayer would like the outdoors and be willing to work hard, and play hard too!
    Renovating such a large boat is a big task. There's plenty of opportunity to learn new skills: working with power tools, woodwork, cooking for 10+ people, mending speedboats and many more projects depending on what's going on each week. This is a project but also a community-focused home - we can generally take 10 volunteers at one time, so you'll be meeting amazing people from all over the world!

    You would be expected to contribute around 5 hours a day, but during downtime you can paddleboard, kayak, jump in the ocean or lay in the sun.
    Accomodation and food is of course provided for free, BUT we do ask for a small donation to contribute to the fuel cost of being out on the water and doing missions to/from shore, as well as allowing us to do more fun activities exploring the islands around Auckland!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learning about life on a boat, living off-grid, aware of the impact of consuming limited resources - An alternative lifestyle in a 'western' country.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Ahoy, fellow pirates !

    Here are the general jobs we need :
    - General improvement of the boat exterior (Steel work - Derusting, painting, cutting & welding, maintenance)
    - Building new structures - Generally requiring experience in construction or woodwork
    - Looking after the spaces and the rest of the team - Making sure the boat stays clean and organised and ensuring people are happy and fed during work hours

    - (bonus) having a marine engineer or somebody qualified to work on diesel engines would be AWESOME !

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a combination of accomodation types - a 4-bed dorm, and a mix of single or double private rooms with a shared bathroom (because we're on a boat...)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have kayaks, paddleboards, scuba diving gear, snorkeling gear + wetsuits, and a small sailboat

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is (limited) parking space at one of the bays we frequent.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 25 hours / week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 189373539433