Join a local family building a sustainable farmstead in Agadir, Morocco

  • Enregistré comme favori 93 fois
  • Activité récente: 22 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    And here I am, transitioning from a volunteer to a host !!

    My name is Oumayma, and I am passionate about organic farming, natural buildings and sustainable living. And guess what? It was through my very first workaway experience in Turkey, back in 2018, that I discovered these interests. It's been a year now since I pushed my fears aside and quit my career to find my happiest self. Right after leaving my job, I traveled throughout Southeast Asia to recharge my energy and volunteer in various projects to pick up new skills, connect with likeminded souls and get inspired.

    After a few months of traveling, I returned home ready to follow my calling to live off the grid. I am fortunate that my family (parents and my two brothers) also decided to settle down with me on our newly bought farm near Agadir (Our home town).

    This shift helped us not only find tranquility but also reconnect with each other. Our family bonds have deepened as we work together on the farm, facing both the challenges and the joys that come with this lifestyle. We actively share the daily work on the farm and for specific tasks/projects, we sometimes recruit professionals/seasonal workers.

    We welcome volunteers to join us on this journey, offering them the opportunity to experience farm life with us. If you are eager to immerse yourself in Moroccan culture, learn about sustainable living, and contribute to our growing farm, please read our profile carefully and feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    As a traveler myself, I love to experience human connections and cultures in a truly immersive way and I always find joy in sharing my culture with the world. As you will be staying with our family, you will fully experience our way of life, values and customs (Not to mention the authentic delicious local food).

    Also, you will get the chance to experience a traditional weekly market. A vibrant place that perfectly reflects Morocco’s rich cultural heritage and will for sure leave you in awe.

    For the lucky ones, you will get to participate to our festivities, cultural events and family gatherings (we have a big extended family and we usually gather at my grand mother house in the city).

    In addition, I personally like to have breaks from time to time and go to the beach for surfing or even travel to other cities/mountain villages with my friends. With that said, you can also join.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are starting from scratch and still in the very beginning stages, adopting a learning by doing approach so there’s no pressure. There are so many things that you can help with, and you can choose whether you want to work on your own project or to help us in our daily work.

    General daily tasks:
    - Animal care (chicken, sheeps and peacocks) : feeding and cleaning
    - Farming: watering, composting, fertilizing, weeding…
    - House tasks: cooking and cleaning

    Projects for the first semester of 2024 :
    *Farming
    - Prepare the olive trees for the next season (in progress)
    - Prepare garden beds and plant vegetables, flowers…
    - Switch from monoculture to polyculture (olive trees area)
    - Compost chicken manure
    *Construction/landscaping:
    - Build outdoors: traditional hamman, dry toilet, shower
    - Build a storage area and a small green house
    - Construct at least one eco dome room (I have already completed an intensive training about eco dome construction)
    *Communication/Networking:
    - Establish a social media presence
    - Host groups to promote organic farming and cultivate love for nature

    Please note that the list is not exhaustive, so you will be free to help us on whatever suits your interests/skills.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Arabe: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Happy to teach you Darija (Moroccan language). My love for languages and culture exchange had led me to co-found and manage an online volunteer-based project uniting people from all parts of the world. I will tell you more when we meet.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    At the moment, we still didn’t build independent rooms for volunteers. We have the main house where we are staying and a secondary one where you can stay as it has a room with essential furniture. If you don’t mind camping, you can also set up a tent (can be provided if you don't have yours). The sky full of stars, the calm and serenity of the place make it just perfect for camping. I personally love to spend the night outside in my tent specially when it’s the full moon.

    Please note that in our culture men and women can’t share the same room/tent unless they are married. If needed, female volunteers can stay in my room.

    This brings me to two important points: only respectful clothing and no alcohol. It is very important to respect the values of the family and people in the village.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Location :
    The farm is situated in a village called Sidi Boushab and is around 40 minutes drive from Agadir city. The village name is Sidi Boushab and there is public transportation that is only available twice a day. My brother goes to Agadir at least twice a week so we can discuss about the transportation and see how we can arrange it.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 188665649616

Feedback (7)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











English language exchange and take the opportunity to experience daily life in Casablanca, learn about Moroccan culture.
Help on my organic farmstay in Chefchaouen, Morocco