Participate in a busy family environment, help with various gardening, landscaping and repairing in Oregon City, USA



Enregistré comme favori 119 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    We have a larger home in the historical "First City" Oregon City, a suburb just a short distance (20 minutes) from downtown Portland, Oregon. My wife and I raised 5 children here, two of which still live at home, along with our hypoallergenic Labradoodle JoJo! We are VERY interested others, and LOVE people in general! We have several available rooms, a lightly shared bathroom, and a HUGE bonus room yet to be improved and used to help others enjoy our beautiful Northwest setting. We are 45 minutes from the Winter Wonderland of Mt. Hood, 1.5 hours from the amazing and rustic Oregon Coast, and anywhere from 5 minutes to about 2 hours from some of the most amazing rivers and streams in the west! The hiking opportunities here are literally endless! And if you are interested in fishing, we have everything you need to go out and try your luck, and about 30 years of experience chasing trout, salmon, and the elusive steelhead! There is a public transit center nearby and a bus line within 5 minutes or so from the house.

    We are interested in meeting people who share such interests, are trying to learn about our culture in America and the beautiful Northwest, and have skills that could help us catch up and keep up on our home, landscape and help with some of the household tasks that will free us up to manage our very busy medical transportation business bringing people to and from their medical appointments. We Look forward to discussing the possibilities with you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The greatest benefit from our perspective is participating in a family environment representative of a family run business and household. We are definitely busy, and our two remaining children are too, and the time we spend at home includes meaningful communication (so language/American culture learning opportunities), and of course with the exploration opportunities literally in every direction from our home, we are certain you can get more than your fill of exciting and wonderful learning opportunities outside the home on your off time.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We have numerous projects around the house, from simple house cleaning and maintenance to siding removal and replacement and roofing. We have a lot of landscape stuff that can use a little love, general clean up of our side yard, building some storage racks, repairing our wood fences, probably a dump run with our trailer, sheetrock repairs, power washing, minor vehicle maintenance items, car washing and detailing, smaller remodeling projects upstairs for creating more space for WorkAway'ers and our paying visitors, etc.... We work hard and we play hard when we can. There are always things to do around the house and outside in the yard.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We have several open rooms available for our guests. We always have at least one bathroom available upstairs and the main common one downstairs in the strange event that the upstairs bathrooms are occupied. We also have a large bonus room that is a work in progress that could be a flop room if that was preferred for some reason. We have a large living room for watching movies or reading a book, a large kitchen for cooking alone or with one of our wonderful family member cooks! We have a large backyard with a trampoline if you like to get that sort of exercise. We often have people driving all over the city and surrounding areas, so if the need arose and you were flexible, there is almost always a way to get you to where you need to go. Food: We maintain a decent supply of food with variable foods available as our friends and family members often have different dietary habits. We consider diet important and would be most interested in knowing what yours consists of so that we can do our best to accommodate you! We do cook at home, but we are always quite happy to have you help yourself as well.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The greatest benefits for our guests are the ability to find plenty of space for their personal quiet time since we do have a larger home, plenty of books to read or read your own, bus line is just a 5-8 minute walk and gets you to the transit center which is about a 30 minute walk (that can involve an off the beaten path hike if preferred), more hikes than can be listed here (many within 20 minutes of our home), and a light rail system that travels into downtown and spans 3 different counties with about 60 miles of rail!

    With some planning there are also numerous opportunities to travel out a little further to many other common attractions like the Oregon Coast, Central Oregon (considered Oregon's Sportsmen's Paradise! ), the Wine Country Tours (yes, some of the best wine country in the World!), Waterfall hikes (including Multnomah Falls!), White Water Rafting, etc...

    We have at least 3 children that are quite active and know the area and most of its attractions very well, and we have countless relationships with business owners and tons of friends that can be a wonderful resource for ideas and activities.

    If you are into the outdoors, there are numerous creeks, rivers, and mountains to explore locally, and if you like fishing, the house father has all the gear you would ever need and 30 years of experience to guide you too the right opportunities!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 184398728134