Ferme de yoga - agriculture et centre de yoga - dans le Devon au Royaume-Uni

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 626 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.05.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    933

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    81.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    2020 dates: Feb 7 – 16, March 12 – 22, April 24 -May 3, May 18 – 25, Jun 12 – 22

    Please note, generally looking for people with good physical health/strength for help outside on the land, and manual trade skills, but also see special projects below. Generally offering placements for 2 - 3 people of same sex (due to shared accommodation) for 7 - 10 day stays.

    Our Yoga farm is a retreat where the community and visitors can connect through yoga practices, food growing and nature connection fully retreat and ground themselves. The land is in Mid Devon and very peaceful, size around 8.5 acres. If you are looking for a calm, spiritual,100% vegan place and are sincerely interested in an ashram-like lifestyle you are very welcome here as a volunteer. We ask you to complete a short application form and show evidence of your right to work in the UK (EU/EEA citizen, youth mobility visa or other).

    Classes, workshops and weekend retreats are run here. The link between the good energy that is cultivated by yoga and growing good food is key. We have been here since Dec 2016, converting the land to vegan organic growing. There is a kitchen garden, orchard. Workawayers did a great job planting new woodland and domestic food production is happening.

    There is much wildlife here and you will likely see foxes, deer, buzzards, hares, rabbits, possibly badgers and many types of bird. At night owls and bats are about and the stars are bright. In the spring the dawn chorus is very loud and over the summer many types of butterfly and bumbles.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Whether you have yoga experience or not this is could be an opportunity to deepen or develop your understanding of yoga and live an ashram-style life. Note that in common with ashrams and monasteries the day is built around remembering God. If awareness of the universal creator is not in your spirituality, or you are not open to this, you may have to adapt in order to respect the place. In addition you'll get:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ have ad hoc training in horticulture according to vegan organic principles depending the tasks in hand of the season
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ benefit from living with a qualified and experienced English language teacher, if learning English
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ eat good vegan yogi food and share knowledge of that
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ experience accommodation in a traditional Devon cob building
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ enjoy a rural location away from it all
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ partake in 'simple living, high thinking' (Swami Sivananda)

    We aim to offer a safe, warm and inclusive environment for relaxation, learning and sharing. The purpose of a retreat place is to leave behind mundane matters to go within and find inspiration. Through your efforts on the land and in the inside spaces you can contribute to the higher and more peaceful vibration that facilitates this for all who come here, including yourself.

    Meditation takes place at 6.30am and 9.30pm and morning practice as a whole goes to 8am when we cook breakfast. Generally in bed by 10pm with mouna (silence) after evening meditation and until after morning meditation.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In 2020 I'm looking for help with:

    - painting woodwork and walls (you've done this before and can work neatly)
    - weeding
    - some digging to prepare the flower garden
    - hedgerow management

    I'm also looking for someone with expertise to build a compost toilet and a roof water collection system

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English (mother tongue), French, Italian

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You'll have a comfortable bed in one of the guest spaces, maybe sharing with other people of the same sex. There is good hot water and cosy woodburners, no central heating so in winter bring warm clothes. We follow a vegan yogi diet, always tasty, nutritious and filling. There are gluten-free options where at all possible (let us know in advance). We eat communally.

    We have lots of lovely herb and spice teas and barleycup for you but black tea and coffee are not available. If you use caffeine, it is a good idea to cut down or better cut it out a week or so before the coming here. In fact we'd like to ask that you have gone through caffeine withdrawal before arrival as the inevitable headaches and grumpiness are hard work for everyone else.

    If you have a daily practice you are encouraged to do that, whatever that may be, and/or join Fiona for meditation. Evenings are generally a quiet time for reading/reflection/journaling/practice/playing music. There is a good range of books on food, growing, natural history and yoga. Wifi is ok but doesn't support large download.

    This retreat place is a little remote in a traditional farming area. A 30 minute walk will take you to a bus stop and from there you can go to Exeter, the cathedral town for Devon, the nearest market towns of Okehampton or Crediton, or towards the seaside town of Barnstaple on the north coast. There are nice walks and nearest villages with shops are about 4 miles away. I go out at least 3 days a week to teach classes or do life coaching, and other days usually, so I can give you a lift too. Two of these places are within Dartmoor National Park, 15 minutes away by car, which is world known for its wild and wonderful landscape.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Fiona is a long experienced yoga teacher and developed the yogi life while bringing up her family in London. She ran English language departments working as a teacher of refugees and other migrants, and a trainer of teachers. She has a long time passion for plants and food growing, and later worked for UK charity as a trainer and co-ordinator on the Master Gardener programme. She also designed and co-ordinated two innovative growing projects in inner city South London.

    Fiona has served in the different organisations ashrams and centres. She has volunteered in NZ and UK and apprenticed at vegan organic market garden in Oxfordshire. Here she has brought together yoga and food growing, to offer their benefits to people needing to reconnect and revive. She is an experienced cook with good knowledge of nutrition, becoming a vegan (from vegetarian) in 2016.

    A framework for your time here can be set with coaching goals, if wanted. Here we would like to support you in your time out from mainstream. Goals could be about learning to grow food, personal/spiritual goals or whatever is pertinent and you wish to share. Fiona is also a practicing life coach.

    What to bring:
    Warm and waterproof clothes for outside
    sun hat and sun cream if you use that
    Good working boots and/or wellies (some wellies here)
    Comfortable clothes and warm jumpers
    Slippers (no shoes in the house), warm socks
    Ideally bio-degradable, organic wash products (to not harm septic tank flora), not containing animal products nor tested on animals – there are products you can use here too
    What not to bring: pets, loud music, aggressive/violent/sexual books/music/downloads, fur or other animal products (we accept wool, silk and leather shoes are hard to avoid)

    House Rules
    Here the aspiration is to lift the vibration of the place and visitors. Therefore, you are asked to:
    not bring meat, eggs, dairy, fish, tobacco, alcohol, drugs, garlic, onions, caffeine-containing drinks, honey
    help maintain the peaceful and pure atmosphere of the meditation/altar space and asana studio in particular, also the other inside spaces and the land
    use your phone/device outside in a considerate way, bearing in mind other retreat participants or volunteers wanting to enjoy the retreat atmosphere
    aim to observe silence overnight from the end of evening meditation to end of morning meditation
    leave outside shoes and coats on the hall racks
    contribute to the daily tasks in the running of the place as well as your volunteer tasks (included time-wise in your weekly hours)
    avoid gossip and negative talk

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.3)





















N° de référence hôte : 177333622784