Help in a sustainable project and stone house renovation in the beautiful Midi Pyrenees, France



Enregistré comme favori 108 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    We are a French family, we've just moved into a new house in a beautiful part of France. The goal here is to create a place based on permaculture principles so we can live in a meaningful way and be as much independent as possible. We are looking for volunteers to help us out with the development of our place, we have a lot of work to do !
    The place is located in the south west of France, in Midi Pyrénées region, Tarn et Garonne department, one hour from Toulouse. The area is very ancient with medieval villages, castle, forests, caves and natural stones formations around the river.
    The place is composed of different buildings, house, ancient bakery, "pigeonnier", workshop, cow house and some more... The constructions are dating back from the 18 century and are very beautiful and traditional from this part of France. We also have one hectare of land.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Projets artistiques

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I volunteered a lot in organic farms so I can share with you what I learned there, and I would be happy that you teach us what you know as well, anything ! Right now there is some big constructions involved so you can learn how to restore an ancient stone house. And when we will be done with this we will have a lot of time to start on some other crazy projects with different types of materials, our goal here is to be independent so we will get to touch many different activities, from mud building to welding and blacksmithing, we just don't know yet in witch order things will get done, but they will !

    We are 4 people living here, my parents, my brother (who was also traveling in farms) and me. We are born in a town near by so we can share with you what you want to know about French culture and southern way of life !

    If you want to learn about BUILDING, CARPENTRY, COB, PERMACULTURE, METAL WORK and french way of life come to join us !

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We need help for differents projects, now-the priority is to fix the roofs so the place is ready to live in and will provide better comfort for everybody. This job will take most of the summer then we will be free to start on other projects.

    -Fixing and replacing roofs (carpentry, tilling...)
    -Creating permaculture vegetable garden
    -Planting fruit trees
    -Building dry toilets (wood/cob)
    -Building outside cob kitchen : rocket stoves, bread oven, rocket plancha, bbq (wood/stones/cob/metal)
    -Building outside shower (wood/stones/cob)
    -Making ponds
    -Building greenhouse (metal/straw-bales)
    -Building aquaponic system (IBC tanks)
    -Building sheds (wood)
    -Building chilling huts (wood/bamboo/cob)
    -Building outside jacuzzi and sweat lodge (wood/cob/metal/stones)

    We appreciate if the volunteers have experience in the fields we are working on, but we will welcome you all the same if you don't, so you can learn with us. We like people to be independent and proactive.

    You guys need to know that we work hard, often in the sun, and usually all day ! Some volunteers like to follow us in the work all day to learn and do stuff, some other prefer to work 5 hours and then chill, so it will be up to you !

    We don't expect any money from you, just your energy and good vibe ! In exchange of your work you will of course get food and accommodation.
    The place is not suitable for vegan people.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    There is a cosy stone room where the volunteer will sleep, it's not so waterproof yet so we put tents in it, but when the roofing will be done there will be a dormitory available.
    We have wifi, electricity, hot shower, everything you need.
    We also have cats, dog and chickens.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    On your free time you can relax or go around and visit the traditional villages, there is a river near by to swim or do kayaking, we also have many bicycles that you can use (but we need to fix them !) There is a trekking path just next to the house where you can reach different villages across the forest and enjoy southern France countryside. Most of the villages around date back from middle age and are built out of stones (Saint Antonin Nobleval, Bruniquel, Montricoux,...). You can also visit castles, caves or go to chill out in the bar in front of the river. Or you can just stay home, relax, read (we have some crazy books to share) and play games ( I am planning to build some wooden games (molky, kubb), maybe this can be someone's project)

    I was traveling in Asia for 3 years and spent most of my time volunteering so I know how it is to be a volunteer ! I will use what I learned from this experience and try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and if any of you is planning a trip in Asia I will be more than happy to share the good spots that I found there.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day/ 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 176435488935