Experience local life while staying at our Estate in Dordogne, France



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 808 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    We moved to the Dordogne from Jersey, in the Channel Islands, in 2003, with our three children and 3 dogs. The children have all left home now, but they do come home periodically in the holidays.

    Depending on the time of year, this will dictate the type of help we need, getting the garden in shape in Spring, or helping in the house. Life is certainly a mixed bag.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have integrated into French society, so workawayers would be invited to join in, whether we are visiting local friends and events or entertaining.

    Just 10 minutes away you'll find Brantome, a hotspot for tourists, not to mention 1000 chateaux in the whole Dordogne to visit, Jumilhac Le Grand and Hautfort are two local to us. The Grottes (caves) at Villars, Padirac and Tourtirac are amazing experiences. If you're into activities then there is 1km of fishing here on the Domaine or we can arrange a licence for you to go further afield; canoeing is also very popular, either from Brantome down to Bourdeilles (a 5 hour trip) or just messing about on our bit of the River Cole in our canoe.

    If you're looking to improve your English or French language then we're happy to help. There are local centres where you can also enrol (short term). Painting classes are available from professionals with views over the French countryside that are memories never forgotten. Perhaps you are into Yoga? The riverbank is perfect, calm with just the sound of the water flowing over the weir. Walking, hiking and cycle paths lead from the property into the countryside and we have maps so you don't lose your way, all the paths are signposted.

  • Aide


    We have a few maintenance jobs to do outside, so would love some help in the garden with a bit of painting involved too. We may also have river maintenance, pools maintenance, painting and decorating, building renovation, garden maintenance & gardening, quite a mixed bag really.

    We are busier in the Spring, Summer and Autumn, but will usually have opportunities for those willing and able. You may just be asked to muck in with whatever we are doing, so flexibility is necessary.

    We are looking to 2022 now and if you're looking ahead too then come and join us.

    Are you ready and able to give us some help, are you free for a month or part thereof, or even longer? The weather is normally very hot from June to the end of September and most of the work will be outside in the garden, or perhaps a bit of decorating, are you handy with a brush?

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We prefer couples as our accommodation is based on double rooms, shared.

    Workawayers will be in our guest double bedroom, with an ensuite shower, or another double bedroom with en-suite bath/shower, or a tent as a last resort if we run out of space!

    In the Summer, those staying in a tent will be sharing the shower room in the pool bouse with those using the family pool.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our place is set on the outskirts of a local village (St. Pierre de Cole) where you will find a boulangerie, local grocery shop, post office and restaurant/bar, just a 10 minute walk or 2 minute bike ride. 10 minutes west is Brantome a local tourist attraction and very busy in the Summer months. We are not on a bus route, but will provide bikes for workawayers to use and will offer lifts to nearby villages and towns. We have a quad for use on the estate.

    We are meat eaters and prefer not to cater for vegetarian and vegan diets, but are flexible.
    We have dogs, so please don't apply if you are allergic.
    There is a strict no smoking policy in the house and other buildings, but smokers may smoke outside. We do not accept heavy drinkers and we will not tolerate drugs.

    On a lighter note, we hope that workawayers would enjoy their time with us, we are hard working and expect the same attitude, however we are also very sociable and entertain gite guests and friends, we would hope that you would join in any entertaining.

    Our recipe book expands every year with dishes from all over the world. We hope you will get as much out of your visit to us here in the Dordogne as possible and we will help you to explore all the wonderful sites and sounds on offer, whether it be kayaking on the River Cole which runs through our property into the River Dronne in Brantome, or fishing along our 1km of riverbank, or visiting the local markets and tasting fresh fruit & veg, not to mention a local delicacy of foie gras! and finally joining us when we entertain round the fire pit on a sultry Summers evening, nursing a cold beer. Spring starts in March, with blossom coming on all the apple and cherry trees, daffodils and crocuses along the riverbank; Summer normally comes in with a bang in May and carries on until October when the evenings start to get a chill, thank goodness for the fire pit! We look forward to welcoming you into our family for your stay and hope you get as much out of it as we do.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 167695148999