Join our family north of Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 331 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    07.09.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 10 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are based about 25miles north of Aberdeen, Scotland near villages such as Inverurie, Oldmeldrum, Daviot and Meikle Wartle. We live in a converted steading/barn and have 15 acres of land with 1 horse? 3 ponies and a guinea pig. We also have an 12yrs old son who just loves the outdoors. We are outside whenever we can be that in the fields, with the horses, or doing general chores.

    We love to be outdoors be that on horse back, cycling,, gardening, skiing, etc.

    We can accommodate a sole person (possibly a couple) at a time in our spare room which has wifi and we would be interested in short to medium stays. There is always something to do and there are many places to visit in the area. We also have a cottage that we rent out, 70miles away near Aviemore, so it depends on the time of year, but both set ups need help.

    As many people are attracted to staying because of the outdoors and the horses, please let us know what experience you have with horses from poo picking, mucking out, tacking up, changing rugs through to your ability of riding. Just so you know we aren't a riding school so are not insured to teach. We have a 15.2Irish Draught (not a novice ride) 14.2, and a 12.2h Welsh Section B and there is also a miniature shetland stallion!

    Please also note our son has multiple food allergies so if you have dietary requirements yourself, we will need help with cooking! We also confirm we do not offer paid work, just in case you are thinking we have that to offer. Finally, if you are going to ride or be around the horses we recommend you have your own personal liability insurance. Thanks

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Plenty about scottish life and heritage along with some new life skills...

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for help with any of the following bigger projects
    1. Inside and outside painting
    2. Husbands DIY list which includes small amounts of joinery, plumbing and electrical tasks
    3. Garden and land management including maintenance of growing small trees, weedkilling etc. We have a quad bike and digger to hand.


    Smaller tasks and more regular daily tasks include
    - gardening (weeding, cutting bushes, hedge trimming)
    - cooking
    -household chores (floors, dusting and hoovering and just helping out)
    - sawing/wood.
    - general outside tidying
    - weedkilling, grass cutting, strimming
    - help with filing, and paperwork and we run small businesses and undertake a PhD
    - general tidying and organising

    and probably much more that we can think off.. ;-)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    we have a spare room for one or two people that has a bathroom shared with our son

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Aberdeen does not attract as many tourists as other Scottish destinations such as Edinburgh or St Andrews, and can feel more authentic. It is a great place to stop for a couple of days on a tour of Scotland, and especially good as a base for exploring the wider region to take advantage of the castles, golf, whisky distilleries, scenery, mountains (including skiing and snowboarding), coast and other attractions in Aberdeenshire and Royal Deeside.

    Alternatively, Aberdeen's remoteness yet comforts and cosmopolitan nature makes it an interesting destination for a short city break if you really want to get away from the stress. Aberdeen is a city of 220,000 people - smaller than Glasgow and Edinburgh, but larger than other Scottish cities. By UK and even Scottish standards it is remote and often the subject of "far away" jokes (the nearest city is much smaller Dundee 70 miles south). Despite this, Aberdeen is surprisingly easy to reach and is a modern and prosperous city. British visitors are often surprised to find a such a vibrant city so far north. Partly due to oil wealth and its status as the only large regional centre, it has the facilities of a much larger city. Together, all this gives Aberdeen an air of self-sufficiency found in few places in Britain today.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have space to park up.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

















N° de référence hôte : 167662446858