Share our offgrid living dream, learn with us and explore the beautiful surroundings near Penamacor, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 3 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    11.09.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Ryan (33) and Mona (34)
    We own a 3,5ha offgrid farm in Central Portugal Penamacor. We are looking for a Workaway (or a couple) who is interested in living off grid and helping us building and living the dream.

    Ryan is a professional builder who built the house we live in himself, so whoever shares the same dream as we do and is interested in learning about building, will be in the right place.

    Tasks you would help us with are: building related (e.g. cladding and other) and helping to look after our dogs, garden and house.

    Our house runs on solar but works like usual electricity. We have a big outside living space and kitchen, where it would be nice to spend some time together. You will have your own room (there are 2 rooms spare, one in the house the other is an extension of the house) so you will have time and privacy for yourself, toilet and hot shower are available, Internet for streaming as well. Washing machine, american fridge & freezer.

    We would love to cook or do Bbq's together or go to the local portuguese restaurant with you but the majority of times you will have to cook and pay for your own food. We just made the experience that food preferences and eating habits can vary a lot and therefore we would like to keep it as simple as possible. (A lift to the supermarket will be guaranteed once or twice a week)

    We are usually working 3-4 days a week, that would mean around 15h for you. Nevertheless we are flexible on your worktimes, days off, hours and tasks you do.

    We live a 5min walk away from a Restaurant, 10min drive to a supermarket, having a drivers license is a big advantage. We are open for all your requests and we can take you to nearby places to get to know the area and local people and culture but being independent and self sufficiant is required. Please talk to us if you have questions.

    Our farm is completely surrounded by nature with the beautiful view of Monsanto Mountain. Great possibility for hiking, cycling or Motorcross.

    Penamacor (10min drive) offers Bars, shops, Restaurants and a great expat community.
    We would like someone to come for at least a week but would be happy for someone to stay longterm.

    Just a little warning:

    Occasionally we like to have a night on the karaoke 😆🤐😇but we are far from professional.

    We can speak English (what is our everyday laguage), German and basic Portuguese and we are more than willing to help you pick up some of the language.


    About us:

    We are both well travelled. (Mona is a flight attendant.) We spent the last 6 years building our Offgrid Dream on our own. The property is more than big enough to accomodate someone else who wants to learn about building and offgrid living. We are easy going and open minded, non judgemental towards beliefs or way of life (eating habits, music taste, religion). We dont have any preferences if you are male, female or in-between as long as you are positive and motivated.

    In the area are 3 lakes (15min drive). There is a public swimming Pool (in and outdoor) in Penamacor. 15 min drive to Monsanto where they just filmed the new series of game of Thrones.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Ryan is a professional builder, there will be lots of options to learn about building. As it is a small community the portuguese a very welcoming and open to share their culture.

  • Aide

    Aide

    All we expect is a helping hand and a bit of motivation.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Own room, shared bathroom, hot shower

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We can offer a lift to Castelo Branco, from there its possible to take a bus or train to Lisbon or other popular destinations

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Separate piece of land on top of the hill with good access and water supply

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Around 15 hours/week - Flexible (up for discussion)


N° de référence hôte : 164748249538