Artist-in-residence type of opportunity! We are especially looking for an outgoing person to join our American-Japanese family in Shiga, Japan

  • Enregistré comme favori 641 fois
  • Activité récente: 23 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    *Please first check the items below in order to determine whether we are a good match*

    We will not respond to applicants who do not meet the items below. Thank you.

    - We can only accomodate one person at a time
    - We cannot take vegetarians/vegans
    - We only take a person with min of 3 weeks
    - Please check the availability of the month you wish to stay and make sure it is not in color red

    ---

    We are a family of 6, Japanese and American couple and the kids who speak both Japanese and English but mostly English at home. We are interested in meeting new people and learning from them about their world. Our biggest interests at the moment are our kids and their future with more holistic, cooperative and creative approach.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Omihachiman is a small and quiet town and you will get a sense of what life in a small town in Japan feels like. The city is small enough it is walkable to shops. There are also small lakes and lake biwako (the largest lake in Japan) near by that is accessible by either bus or bicycle (there is an extra set of bicycle you can use). Kyoto is accessible in under an hour and Osaka in a little over an hour by train.

    We want you to make the most of your time here and we encourage people to explore. Weekends and most week nights are free time for you, and we are happy to help you find places and experiences of interest to you.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for someone who is;

    -An artist who is not afraid to experiment and produce work in a short period of time.
    -Someone who can have fun with and be patient with children.

    Our focus used to be primarily on child-care and creative aspect was secondary to this workaway project. Now we are trying to experiment a bit more with creative aspects and consider childcare to be a bi-product as our children become bigger and are more capable.

    We have four children; ages 12, 9, 7 and 4. It is very important that you enjoy being around children and have patience and curiosity while interacting, engaging, and playing with them.

    We are thinking of something like a lived in artist situation. We will provide a space in the house (not secluded). We would like you to use the space to create. Our children will want to interact with you and do things you are doing. So this is where you have to be patient, interact and be comfortable with children. You could even create and collaborate with children.
    At the end of the stay we would ideally like you to have a finished work so we can display it at the front window of our house.
    We could discuss the details and plan schedules together if you like. We are in the experiment phase so we are open to new ideas.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Japonais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have a private room, but the rest of the house is shared with our family. Meals are provided in that we welcome you to eat with us and share in what is prepared; the cuisine is homestyle Japanese and simple. Though we do make pancakes on Sunday mornings:)

    We would like your help keeping the house in order. We will not ask you to do our household chores or clean the toilet, but we do ask you to clean up after yourself and help out... just like a member of the family would.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    As mentioned above, when we welcome someone into our home, we treat them like a member of the family and we would like them to return the same consideration:

    Please conserve energy and water
    Please keep the house and amenities clean
    Please keep cell phone use to a minimum around children (We do not have TV in the house. We try not to be on our phone or computer when our children are around.)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 - 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 153995759951

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)








Help at our permaculture lifestyle and self contained chalets in the mountain of Myoko, Japan
Housekeepers / Lodge staff to join us in Nozawa Onsen, Japan