Share a very simple life on a small farm in the Swiss mountains, in the middle of the Naturpark Gantrisch

  • Enregistré comme favori 67 fois
  • Activité récente: 3 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    For the past 15 years I have been earning a living as a Conflict Resolution Coach, working with schools all over Switzerland. In 2022 I bought a small, old farmhouse and a small patch of land in a beautiful little Swiss town called Guggisberg. We are in the wonderful Swiss mountains at 950 meters above sea level: winters are cold and beautiful and in the summer you will hear nothing but cowbells. We are located in the "Naturpark Gantrisch", one of several regional nature parks in Switzerland. My goal is to start a small community here, growing some of our own food, producing our own energy and becoming as independent and self-sufficient as possible. Right now I am still living here by myself, but as soon as I finish renovating two of the rooms the first additional people can come and then the planned community will start for real. I am breeding sheep (right now there are 14 of them) and I have two yaks. With these I am training every day: in the (hopefully not too distant future) I would like to offer yak trekkings.


    About our farm and community project:
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    - My little farm is not a professional farming business. Rather, everything we produce is for our own consumption. I am not much of a gardener, unfortunately, so I could very much use some hep with that. I do love my animals!
    - In 2022 I built a Willow-Cathedral (see foto), together with friends. Over the years, it will grow into a wonderful living structure, hopefully with a waterproof roof.
    - We regularly invite people to celebrate life, love and nature with us in seasonal celebrations in our Cathedral.
    - I have built a Sh(l)eeping Wagon: underneath the sheep can get some shade, up top our visitors can sleep in a semi-open wagon, protected from the weather (see foto).
    - Our two buildings are old and not in very good shape. So I have started renovating the smaller one of them.
    - I am planning to build and plant a new herb garden at some point.
    - All of our land is very steep: in order to be able to set up large tents I have built three terraces.
    - Also, we need to construct a compost toilet, for the guests coming to our celebrations.
    - In the fall we will plant a new hedge using local bushes and trees: as a living fence for the sheep pasture and to improve biodiversity.
    - In the not too distant future I want to build a small biodigester, to produce biogas for cooking and other stuff.


    About myself:
    ++++++++++++
    - In the past 15 years I have earned a living as a Conflict Resolution Coach. My favourite are interventions with school classes having severe and acute problems. Those are very tough work, but very fulfilling!
    - Before I moved here I also used to be an Aikido teacher and I had my own Aikido Dojo.
    - For several years I organised a Japanese Cultural Festival.
    - Originally, I went to art school (the Massachusetts College of Art) in Boston / USA, where I studied photography. I studied and lived in the US for four years.
    - I spent two years in Japan, studying Japanese and teaching English and German.
    - I have two children, aged 29 and 12.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Live in one of the most wonderful corners of an already beautiful country. Enjoy the peace and quiet of a small, rather secluded farm. The Bärenbach is a wonderful place to get some rest, have time for yourself to think about the meaning of life and what is really important to you, if you need it. Learn about Switzerland, its culture and its languages. Learn what it means to start a large project and invest every last dime you own. Get some hints, tips, advice and many valuable strategies for realising the project of your own dreams in the future.

    And if that is not enough: we can talk about our experiences living and working in different countries and cultures. And I am curious to learn about you, where you come from and what your language and your culture is like!

  • Aide

    Aide

    Your help as a WorkAwayer will not involve the farm. But of course, if you want to learn about farming I will happily teach you everything I can. Instead, you will help with a variety of our private and community projects. Depending on your interests and your skills, and of course the season of the year, you are invited to help us with some of the following:
    - Help renovating our "Stöckli", the smaller one of our two buildings.
    - Cutting, splitting, stacking fire wood.
    - Build a compost toilet.
    - Help fixing our leaking roofs.
    - Help build our new spice and herb garden.
    - Plant berries, bushes, fruit trees to become more self-sufficient.
    - Planting, nurturing and harvesting vegetables in our garden.
    - Processing garden vegetables and fruit into a variety of things for our own consumption, such as: jellies, sauces, juices, chutneys, dried fruit, sirups, tee and so on.
    - Help renovating a tiny house to be used as living space for future members of our community.
    - Help with the construction of a bio digester to produce biogas (in the future).

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Intermédiaire
    Japonais: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your room is in the main farmhouse and has its own wood stove. It has two windows and a nice view over the pasture behind our house, with the "Jura" mountains in the background. We share the kitchen and the bathroom/toilet. I usually share meals with the WorkAwayers staying here and we take turns cooking.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our farm is some distance away from the village and VERY quiet. Our parking lot is a 20 minute walk from here. There is also a public bus stop within 15 minutes walking distance. We have a good public transportation system in Switzerland that will get you just about everywhere.

    Take day trips into the Swiss Alps to go hiking, skiing, sledding or swimming. Visit the beautiful Interlaken area and its lakes. Take a hike through the wonderful gorge of the river "Sense", one of the wildest rivers in Switzerland, just a short distance from here. Or take a short trip to the cities of Berne, Fribourg or Thun, all within 35-45 minutes (by car).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cell phone service is not too good in the house (too far from the nearest antenna). But I have a landline for my computer and you can hook up through Wifi.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 153676136633

Feedback (2)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







We are looking for French, Spanish or English speaking people to improve our language knowledge in Walkringen, Switzerland
Quiet place for regeneration and inspiration in exchange for light help in the house and garden in Mogelsberg, Switzerland