Growing house trees in Detroit, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 108 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.04.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am working to develop an abandoned house into an intentional community of anarcho-qweirdos dedicated to growing house trees, basically trees that can support a human home.

    So far, I've built out a little pod to ride out the winter inside a gutted 5,000 ft² (400m2 or something) 100+ year old house, which will serve as the home base for the project and a residence for those working on the forest (myself included). The house is on the corner and the rest of the block, once full of houses, is for the trees. [2022 update: The mother tree, an American sycamore, is in the ground but only 18 inches tall with 6 leaves this year. We'll plant a couple dozen more trees this spring.] One day, I hope the field will be a forest full of tree houses. None of the spaces you'll be helping to renovate will be for paying guests in the future, this project is part of the free economy and a gift to the world. Hopefully a great one!

    About me: I believe deeply in both hospitality and labor. I've spent much of the last ten years hosting though couch surfing. Now, I'm trying to reorganize my life around the goal of growing, learning, and teaching about house trees. Since some of my best experiences with couch surfers were working on this old house, it made sense to migrate over to this site after cs lost focus. At the moment, I work full time as a forensic engineer. I ride bikes and play the banjo and the drumset.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We could learn how to grow house trees. Also, I can teach you how to learn the banjo.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There's three big bins of help:
    1) ordinary stuff like cooking, cleaning, yardchores, gardening, laundry, and shopping.
    2) home rennovations like sanding, scraping, painting, insulating, glazing, carrying, sorting...et cetera, nothing to replace skilled tradesmen
    3) projects including seed collection, germination, planting, irrigation, fertilization, grafting, research, planning...and the unknown!

    Stamina beats experience, eventually.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Russe: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant
    Hebrew: Débutant
    Italien: Débutant
    Thai: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    My little room in the big house is just for me, but the next living spaces are coming online. Two new bedrooms, still pretty rough. Camping and facilities are available at the project site. Ideally, we can share some oatmeal in the morning, a sumptuous lunch after work, and none will go hungry.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The project site is in a neighborhood just north of the Eastern market. I have bikes to share. Detroit is really an amazing city, good spirit here.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I'm doing my best to keep the normal internet out of my own home, but there are certainly lots of places around town where you can find free, good internet.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have a little driveway and a big field where you can camp

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    8-12 M-F


N° de référence hôte : 143285713593