Enjoy the Swedish wildlife and help us on our huskies in Lysvik, Sweden



Enregistré comme favori 219 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 11 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

  • Description


    Hello everybody :-)

    Let us introduce ourselves.
    We are Erik and Linda. We have two daughters, 22 and 19 years old.
    We are a Dutch family that moved to Sweden in 2005.
    We live in an old house in the forest with about 5.5 hectares of farmland and forest.
    The rest of the family consists of our almost grown up daughters, 26 Siberian huskies, 2 cats, 1 chicken,
    1 rooster and a bearded dragon.

    Linda works in the hospital as a nurse and cardiovascular assistant. We live on this.
    Erik is a house man and takes care of the house, the garden, the shed and the herd.

    We have a small sled dog company together.
    In the winter we make sledding trips with our dogs and in the summer we make walks in the forest with small groups of tourists.
    The dogs earn their own food, new materials, like sleds, harnesses and the vet and insurance.
    And we, we earn about zero.
    Well we are actually a little crazy.
    Anyway, once this addictive hobby has begun, there is no stopping it.
    And we work until we drop. But with a happy mood and a smile on our face (mostly :-) )

    The house is old and much needs to be refurbished and restored.
    It is heated by a wood stove. We take that wood from our own forest.
    The trees have to be saw, then split and piled up to dry.
    Here in Sweden it is also said that you get 3 times hot from burning on wood
    In addition, the dogs require their care every day,

    We have a large vegetable garden, fruit trees and berry bushes.
    We love to grown our own food without pesticides.
    There is a lot of gardening work and in the autumn we harvest hay and all the vegetables and berry's.

    We also have work in the kennel. The dogs have to be fed 2 x per day, the kennels need daily maintenance and care, There are always things that need to be repaired, or to be replaced.
    The dogs themselves are fond of attention, cuddling and walking.
    And In the autumn, the training starts for the winter season with kick bike, bicycle and ATV.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    A number of (hopefully) fun weeks in which hard work also alternates with relaxation days in which you can undertake or see something in the neighborhood.
    Getting to know Sweden, their culture and habits and landscape.
    Experience the long light days and during the winter the short dark days and the northern lights
    Enjoying the Swedish wildlife and try to spot the moose, wolf, deer, beaver fox or lynx.
    Nice walks in nature, outdoor camping, picking berries, finding mushrooms.
    The lake is 3 km walk from our house where you can swim, fish or row a boat on the lake.
    In the winter you can go skiing, cross country skiing, ice fishing, snow scoot etc.
    Work experience in the tourism industry, brush up your languages ​​if we do not have Dutch guests
    Work experience with sled dogs
    Experiencing what it is like to work outdoors in the countryside, in the summer or during the winter when there is snow and cold.

  • Aide


    We can use cheerful, flexible positive and hard-working people. People who are not afraid to get tired and dirty and who love dogs and animals.
    You take care of the dogs, the kennel and have the possibility to train our dogs, taking care of the older dogs and the puppy's if we have them.
    Besides that you can help as a handyman, carpenter, gardener, farmer, dog caretaker, cook and housekeeper and in our forest to collect wood.
    During the winter it will be a little bit different and more hard working.
    We need then a flexible, hard working, positive minded, open and social volunteer, who loves to be outdoors the whole day.
    Even if it is 25 degrees Celsius below!
    Mastery of the English language is an absolute must during the winter because we get a lot of guests.And if you volunteer during winter, working days will be longer then 5 hours, because we often work at location 70 km to the north. But it is worth it!!

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Dutch: Courant
    Sami: Courant
    Swedish: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You sleep in our old but heated caravan at about 30 meters from our house next to the chicken shed.

    We provide you with real mostly biological food and (non alcoholic) drinks.
    Shower and toilet are in house and shared with us. In the caravan there is a toilet where you can only go for the small message, for the larger work we refer you to the old-fashioned "utedas" in the barn or inside the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You can easily reach us by taking the airplane to Oslo Gardermoen and from there the train.
    The train station is about 8 km away from us. Closest shop is also 8 km away.
    Most convenient, is to come with your own car.
    Then you can go wherever you want.

    The area is hilly and with a lot of forest. There are several lakes and small rivers.
    We ourselves live pretty basic. Rarely watch television because we are always working outdoors and with our dogs.

    We love to grow and prepare all our own food. So little junk food here :-) OK sometimes we sin and make french fries, pizza and good cake :-)
    We are not vegetarians but do eat little meat and fish.
    During the weekend we love to relax by a wood fire, with a nice glass of wine or beer. To talk about life, spirituality, how wonderful it is and why we are here! Or look at a good movie together.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days/week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 136832867384