Seeking Artists/Dogsitters/Cleaners for my ‘Iron Man’ home in Penang



Enregistré comme favori 201 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    The theme of my place is anything IRONMAN. Since 2015 I have been inviting artists into my home to help me decorate/renovate/refurbish/clean what has now become the Iron Mansion. Although I live alone (with my dog selfie!), I always have my doors open to friends, Couchsurfers, travellers and Workaway volunteers, so it can get pretty busy at times. Workaway has always been a great way for me to meet people from all over the world as well as an opportunity for me to share my own culture (and food!). Over time The Iron Mansion hase become a home away from home for many , with volunteers often returning a 2nd, 3rd and even 4th time. Giving my volunteers the chance to express themselves through art has been a rewarding experience, I am always very keen to see the projects that grow and transform my home.

    Penang is a vibrant island in Malaysia, famous for delicious food and street art. There are many areas to visit in the city and around the island on your days off. The island has its own airport and buses come and go from the city regularly, keeping it well connected. A bus from KL to Penang will take around 5 1/2 hours and you can also take a bus direct from the airport (AirAsia terminal) to Butterworth, which is a city on the mainland. From there you can take a ferry to the Island. Anymore questions just text me or add me on fb. I usually ask that most of my volunteers buy a sim card, they are cheap and can be bought everywhere. There can be a few visitors in the house at once and it makes communication far easier this way.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learn Indian Culture, Food Expedition with me (invaluable), You could learn how to cook some Indian dishes.

  • Aide


    There are a number of roles to be filled in my project. When you contact me please specify which role you are applying for.

    1. CLEANING/DOG SITTING - With so many people coming and going it is important to have someone stay who can keep on top of the communal areas: living room, kitchen, patio, etc. (you are not expected to clean the occupied bedrooms or ensuite bathrooms just your own). I have quite a busy working schedule, switching from day shifts to night shifts on a regular rota, so I don’t aways have time to do this myself. I also recently welcomed a new member to my home: Selfie the puppy. Any dog lovers out there are welcome to take on the role of dog sitter, helping train her a little and make sure she is fed and walked when I am at work. Although most of the volunteers interact and help with this, I like to have one volunteer solely in charge of feeding her so her meals are not skipped/doubled by accident. As neither of these jobs will take 5 hours a day alone I usually expect both roles to be filled by the same person/couple.

    2. ARTISTS - I welcome people who are interested in all forms of art, especially those who are good at painting or drawing. I am planning to give this place a more modern and worldly look with your expertise. So if you have any ideas you can help to contribute and make it a reality. Past projects include: graffiti, upcycle, paint, carpentry, etc. The theme is ‘Iron Man’ or ‘Red & Gold’, so be as creative as you like. My priority at this time is to paint the white walls in my garden: if big scale murals are your kind of thing let me know! Usually I ask for a proposal to be sent beforehand, as well as any past artwork you have produced, but I understand that some artists prefer to see the space before designing. Whatever your preferences, be sure to let me know before you arrive. The necessary tools & supplies will be provided.

    3. HANDYPEOPLE - I am looking for someone who can help with restoring some plaster ceilings, patching and plumbing work. If you have experience in household construction work that would also be quite useful. I have also some plans to do some woodwork with Pinewood, maybe build some furniture for the place to make it look more awesome with your ideas.

    NOTE: My project relies heavily on trust, there will be many moments during the day where I will be busy or at work. In the past some volunteers have taken advantage of this situation, not working the maximum hours and delivering work that hasn’t fairly represented their stay. The atmosphere in my home can appear to be very laid back, this can sometimes fosters a bit of a lazy attitude. I do like my volunteers to create a schedule that works for them. Maybe you like to work during the early morning or very late at night. Some artists prefer to spend 3 days working none stop on a project while others take a slower approach. I understand that the work style is different for everyone but I will ask that you work the full 25 hours a week. I prefer longterm volunteers but I like to give everyone a 1 week trial period to see that work ethic and project ideas work well for us both.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Tamil: Courant

  • Hébergement


    *️️️My home is a large Semi Detached 4 bedroom house. Each volunteer will be given a room with their own bathroom (or shared depending on how many we are at the time). We will eat most of our meals out in the city but there is a kitchen, feel free to cook your favourite dish and we can enjoy it together. I should add that there is NO PORK allowed inside the house, please respect this.
    *️️️While there may be a volunteer in charge of cleaning I do ask that you tidy up after yourself and keep your bedroom and bathroom tidy. Rooms should be cleaned before leaving.
    *️️️Due to my ever changing rota and the different schedules of each volunteer, the free meal provided will be only available if you are around when I go out to eat myself. This has never been an issue in the past and is easy to organise through WhatsApp. I would just like to make it clear that I cannot provide a meal for you if, for example, you are out visiting the city at that time.
    *️️️Smoking is NOT permitted inside the house, if you do smoke please do it outside. FYI - Penang is becoming a SMOKE-FREE Zone meaning there will be no smoking in most public places.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    When we are both free, I will definitely bring you out and show you around Penang. On your free days you can go the places of interest: Penang Hill, the Botanical Gardens, Batu Ferringhi (the beach), see the street art in the city. We have a Reclining buddha 300 metres walk from the house as well as a fresh produce market, two large malls and many local restaurants.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours - 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 134221788948