Help me with moving in to a new zero carbon house in the south of France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 192 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Work away profile 2021.

    I am Katherine, a 67-year-old semi-retired sustainable architect finishing a zero-carbon house in the south of France.

    ABOUT ME

    I have MS, and luckily still very mobile (it has mostly affected my left leg and I walk with a stick). My husband and I had planned to have a joyous third life on the Côte d’Azur until he died in 2017.
    I have been a passionate advocate of sustainable architecture throughout my career, designing homes that are good for people and the environment, with a specialism in designing homes for people with disabilities, and this house is the culmination of my career as an architect.

    I am not fully retired yet, but heading that way, in order to make more time to improve my health and to sculpt and do pottery again. I am determined to get better to be able to walk as I used to again, and as a result regularly go swimming, pilates, on short walks and am eating a healthy diet following the Dr Wahl's protocol (lots of organic veg and meat).

    WHO I’M LOOKING FOR

    I am planning on moving in to my new home at the end of February/ beginning of March and I'm looking for someone to help me with things I find difficult such as: moving things around, lifting and unpacking boxes, fixing curtain rails and hanging curtains, fitting shelves, gardening and pool to help with, generally a good all round helper, carpenters and plumber welcome!
    Proficiency with some computer-based admin tasks, a driver's license is essential and some fluency in French would be a welcome added bonuses!

    Ideally I am looking for someone who is very hands on and helpful, willing to lend a hand and enjoy the South of France.

    ABOUT THE PLACE

    The house is on the Côte d’Azur is in a stunning location with walks all around, the beaches are about 20 minutes away by car, the nearest village 5 minutes down the hill by car, there is also a bicycle available. The house is 95% complete, just in need of the final touches.
    Accommodation for a workaway will be your own double bedroom with en-suit facilities.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Benefits:
    - Living in a beautiful rural place, car and bicycle available.
    - Local village has many events.
    - Freedom to get on with your own things.
    - Opportunity to come to France and see more of Europe, the location is approximate an hours drive from the Italian border.
    - Access to regular exercise opportunities, pool, walks, runs, cycling.

    Learning:
    - English
    - Information/wisdom about sustainable architecture
    - How to support someone with a disability
    - Cooking skills
    - Gardening and planting in a warm climate.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The main things I would like help with are:
    Having a helpful and considerate person around.
    Gardening: Clearing, planting and watering
    Cleaning: cleaning around the place after builders
    Cooking: I love cooking but would be happy to sharet taking it in turns. (If you are enthusiastic about healthy eating all the better!)
    Help with things I can't do: Lifting ,carrying, moving things around, hanging curtains
    Walking: coming on walks with me.

    Great but not essential:

    Computers: I'm no techno whizz, but use a computer for my work plus emails etc, so additional support with this may come in handy.
    French speaking: I'm trying to improve my french as I plan to live in France, so if you speak french, great!
    Admin assistance: occasionally helping me stay on top of french admin tasks.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I will be living in France and would like to improve my french.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    New build 4 bedroom zero carbon house, set in approximately 1 acre, located in the area of the Côte d'azur, 20mins by car from the town of St Maxime.
    Beautiful location walks all around.

    Double bedroom with en-suit facilities.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Beaches and many sights and small villages around to explore.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    There own room, or a suitable space in the house.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is space to accommodate a campervan

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Small well behaved dogs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 118224579858