Savannah

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

    Les activités qui m'intéressent :

    Looking to expand my knowledge of plants and culture! Mishka and I are ready to take on the world.

  • Description

    I feel most myself when I am surrounded by nature! I have always been amazed by the abilities that the wilderness has to love and heal, giving me an overwhelming urge to help it. The best way to do that is to learn from plants and likeminded people!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Sports d’hiver
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Livres

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Projets artistiques

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Currently, Mishka and I are living in Kent, Washington. After traveling the country for months together, we are spending some time recharging with family for the holidays. After holiday season we are ready to get back out on the road!

    I have a degree in Environmental Studies from Western Washington University. Studying in this field taught me an immense amount of information about the natural environment we live in today. One of my jobs that I had throughout college is helping out in backyard gardens around Bellingham, WA, which gave me great skills in large-scale gardens. This includes crop rotation, harvesting, planting, weeding, winterizing, mulching, dead heading, mowing, weed-wacking, building fences, raised beds, sheds, and so on. I also worked at a local apple farm, which has taught me great customer service/people skills. I would say that I'm very knowledgable about agricultural systems and native species here in the Pacific Northwest, but I wish to learn about theses systems in different climates. I have been fully immersed in the Pacific Northwest lifestyle, but am ready to experience new cultures.

    My Workaway experiences began in April 2021, when I spent about 6 weeks in Pahoa, Hawaii -- a tropical paradise on the Big Island. Being on the rainy side, I got to experience a farm life that is year-round. I helped out on a family homestead, implementing permaculture practices along with some basic housework. I learned an infinite amount of information on species I have never heard of and was quickly able to grow, propagate, transplant, and help them thrive. I also learned various random skills such as chopping coconuts, milking goats, backpacking in the dark, and many more.

    After that I returned to Washington and began an unofficial work-trade on a lavender farm in Ferndale. I spent the summer cutting lavender and selling our home-made products while Mishka played with all of the farm animals. We had chickens, goats, sheep, bunnies, pigs, ducks, a few other dogs, and a cat! I learned tons of facts to share with customers, traded knowledge at farmers markets, and soaked up the sun while hanging out with the bees. This experience gave me great insight to a mono crop farming style. During this time I also began converting my car into a camper so I could hit the road after lavender season... and adopted a dog.

    In August, Mishka and I set out on our big journey. We wound our way through Canada and landed in Coram, Montana, right outside of Glacier National Park. Here, I helped out for 3 weeks in various projects at new homestead. This included reviving the garden, setting up a live roof with plants, cleaning the air bnb's, adding siding to a house, and cutting down trees for a new cabin. At this work trade, I realized I didn't know much about building. I set a new goal to learn more about sustainable infrastructure and took off to the Mojave Desert.

    At the Mojave Center in the deep desert of California, I learned how to build super adobe domes. With just sandbags, dirt, a little cement and water, it takes just 5 days to build an entire house! My experience at the Mojave Center was unlike anything I have ever done -- working from sunrise to sunset in 90+ degree weather definitely pushed me to my limits, but seeing the creation of these inexpensive and low-maintenance homes was unexplainably rewarding. Life in the desert also teaches you how to live simply and appreciate all the little things around you. I would also assist in making each meal, giving me some experience in cooking with non-perishable foods for large groups of people. Plus, Mishka had a blast chasing scorpions all day.

    In addition, I have been working with children basically as long as I can remember. My mom was a preschool teacher all while I was growing up, so I always came to help out, play with them, and volunteer at different events. During the summers of when I was 16-18 I worked at a summer camp as a camp counselor. Each week, a new group of around 10-15 kids ages 8-16 would come in and I would be responsible for them 24/7. I led them in countless group activities ranging from arts and crafts, both active and calming games, songs, swimming in the ocean and pool, campfires, to nature walks. I have two nieces that lived with us since they were born, giving me lots of infant babysitting experience. They are now 5 and 8 and still my best friends! In addition, I've had many other smaller jobs along the way such as being a lifeguard, children's swim instructor, nanny, tutor, and even an elf for Santa pictures.

    Overall, I have great skills in time management, ecosystem management, leadership, collaboration, dedication in any given task or personal desire, patience with kids and am always ready for a new adventure. And I am especially eager to learn as many new skills as possible! I know this all sounded super serious, but I also can be laid back and go with the flow! I'd also say that I have a pretty good sense of humor (mostly dad jokes and sarcasm). After a few months of recharging with the family, I am ready to get back into the world, explore, and learn more.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Sign language (American): Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I am very open to learning new languages!

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    21

  • Autres infos...

    I have a sweet pup named Mishka! She is a husky, German shepherd, pitbull, mastiff, lab mix -- a super mutt. She is fully up to date with all of her vaccinations, including rabies, and microchipped. She is also potty and crate trained and very well behaved around all other animals. She grew up on a farm and around four kids! Mishka is always by my side and down for any adventure. We have seen 32 states and 20 national parks together! She especially loves the snow, long hikes, and laying in the sun while I garden!

    In our free time you can almost always find Mishka and I outside! My favorite activities are snowboarding, swimming, hiking, camping, and kayaking. I amm trying to learn new activities like rock climbing, longer backpacking trips, surfing, or anything else that I cross paths with. With that being said, it rains a lot in Washington. Sometimes I can bare it, but other times I'd rather cozy up and watch a movie, read a book by the fire, do some crafts, make a dessert, or play cards.

    My "dream job" is to get a PDC certificate and be a permaculture consultant, but I am eager to get as much hands-on experience as possible before then.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      No

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback