Marian

  • Canada
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Cambodia
    Voir tout
  • Description

    I am an active, fit, recently retired teacher with a passion for travel of all kinds. I am the mother of 2 adult children, both of whom I introduced to travelling and who turned out to be wonderful global citizens. I have been fortunate to have travelled a lot but I have only stayed for a few weeks in a location and never truly immersed myself in another culture, so therefore I would prefer longer stays. I have retired early to make this dream come true with the help of Workaway! So far I have been fortunate to have done 3 Workaway placements. The first was in Laos where I managed a butterfly park on my own for 10 weeks - this involved supervising Laotian staff, dealing with tourists from all over and training new Workaway volunteers. My second placement was teaching English near Hanoi, Vietnam. The third was also in Vietnam and was at a cat shelter and cafe. It involved looking after the cats and serving guests at the cafe.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports d’hiver
    Fitness
    Yoga / bien-être
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Livres
    Photographie
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Politique/justice sociale

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Pratique des langues
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I am a very organized, tidy, reliable individual who has been described as having a warm personality. I am an outgoing person with strong communication skills, both verbal and written. I am computer literate, however, I cannot trouble-shoot computer problems. Adventurous by nature, I have a passion for exploring and learning about other cultures. I have taught all ages of students, including adults, and I have taught all subjects! Most recently, I have been volunteering to teach English to a refugee family in my hometown. Besides being an experienced teacher, I am also a good pupil myself; willing and able to learn new things. In 2017, I learned how to be a deckhand on a sailboat! My gardening experience is limited to my own small garden but I would love to learn more!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Intermédiaire
    Français: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I am an experienced teacher and I am also ESL certified.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    61

  • Nationalité

    Canadian

  • Autres infos...

    My interests and activities are travelling, hiking, running, gym, yoga, skiing, kayaking, scuba-diving, reading, baking, pets (especially cats), gardening, nature, conservation, photography and making on-line photo-books of my travels.
    I am currently learning meditation and mindfulness.
    I have many excellent work and character references, as well as unsolicited letters of commendation from administrators, colleagues, students, parents of my students and community members that I would be happy to share.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback


Amis

Photos

Feedback