Thomas & Lia

Origine: Suisse

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte duo

  • ...

    Destinations

    Italie

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.04.2019 - 01.04.2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Notre statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    Hi, we are Lia and Thomas!

    Early 2019, we quit our jobs, bought a van and left Switzerland to travel around Europe. Doing so, we left behind our busy desk-job/semi-pro volleyball players lives with the aim of experiencing something more, discovering another way of life. That’s why we chose to stop every now and then doing Workaway.

    We actually had to rewrite our profile. Because, let’s face it, we didn’t recognise ourselves in our original description anymore. So right now, after more than one year on the road and most of it spent in Workaway stays, we’re no longer the statistician and the sociologist wanting for adventure, but rather two dreamers, wanna-be farmers who are still eager to learn and discover new things, new perspectives on life and new cultures. We've experienced very rural farming and living, the backstage of a busy countryside bed & breakfast, the diversity of a smallholding from animal husbandry to developing a farm shop from scratch, dipped our toes into the gin distilling world, gain forestry experience at an eco wedding venue, and more recently got our hands "plastered" renovating a mountain backpack hostel. As a matter of fact, it would be a wild dream come true to have, one day, our own piece of land, with or without a campsite or small coffee shop. We have grown interest in a wide range of areas. Always in a natural and sustainable way, we’re avid to know everything on fields like the (countryside) catering and hosting business, wine beer or spirit making, and even pig keeping. Our common thread in all of that definitely is our passion for food and drink, and all other little pleasures in life.

    Always with a smile on her face, Lia, 26 years old, is a sparkling young lady who is constantly willing to meet new people and try her hand at new things. She loves talking for hours over a coffee or a glass of wine. During her studies, she has worked for a long time in bars and restaurants and then ventured into banking. Also, Lia has always had a particular interest for wine and all its aspects.
    At 32 years old, Thomas wants to get away from his past life in the academia, but his love for languages and literature seems to stick! Loving animals (especially dogs and pigs) and being outdoors, Thomas will gladly do the heavy duty and other more physical tasks. We are both passionate about food and cooking, love discovering new cuisine and tasting new things. As real epicureans, we're always eager to learn more about wine and wine making, but also distilling and brewing. In short, we just love to enjoy the little things!

    Tagging along and never leaving us, Carat is our 45 kg baby dog! Despite her looks, Carat is a big teddy bear who loves humans most of all. Having lived for almost two years in a shelter, she’s used to being with other dogs and is sociable with them. After some experience with "host-dogs", she has proven respectful with her fellows and their territory, especially if there are several of them. She’s indifferent to small farm animals (like sheep and poultry), and certainly won't mess with horses, cows or pigs! However, cats are Carat's weakness... Cohabitation is possible as long as we keep an eye on her!

    If you have the kindness of taking us as your guest co-workers, know that we make a point of respecting our host(s). Indeed, we will gladly get busy with what you need from us, we’ll eat what you eat and most of all we love to experience other cultures and traditions. In our early Workawayers experience, we proved being able to handle all of the tasks we were given, no matter rain or heat.
    We are fluent in English, speak a rather good Italian, know our basics in German, and French is our mother tongue.

    Now you know us a little more, but feel free to ask for more details. We hope that we will meet soon, and we already know that we will have fun together!

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Éco-projets

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Pratique des langues

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Aider dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Land clearing, weeding, ploughing, planting, garden caring
    Willow planting, pruning and working
    (Hard) landscaping, paving and footpath laying
    All types of fencing
    Woodworking and basic building; wood chopping, chainsawing, wood milling
    Cement and brick laying
    Basic lime pointing and picking
    Basic plastering, installing plaster boards, insulation
    Cleaning, organising, decorating (Lia's getting quite good in wood carving, making dream-catchers and crochet)
    Basic knowledge of small hotel management (3 months in B&B in Italy), customer service, cleaning rooms and outdoors, cooking and baking breakfast, supplies management, accounting; experience in farm shop
    Strong experience working in bars and restaurants
    Feeding and taking care of animals (especially poultry and pigs; sheep and horses), solid experience in lambing and bottle feeding
    Any heavy duty!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant

  • Âge

    32 & 26

  • Autres infos...

    We will never refuse to have a bed and a room for our stay, but note that we can sleep in our van if we can use toilets and bathroom somewhere.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Photos

Feedback