Ashley

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Facebook verified

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Asheville, NC, United States
    Voir tout
  • Description

    My name is Ashley Lamoreaux. I am a 23 year old automotive technician currently living in a very remote area of Bucks County, PA.

    I am a recent graduate of Arcadia University with a bachelors degree in International Studies and a concentration in development with a minor in French. I had plans on pursuing a career and travel adventure abroad, but our precarious global situation seems to suggest I should stay local for now.
    I have been to about thirteen different countries, including Scotland, Oman, Thailand, South Africa and many countries in Europe. I love to travel with a purpose--whether that be an academic one, an adventure filled one, or a humanitarian one.

    I absolutely love to travel. I think that a global perspective is essential for understanding and interacting with the ever-globalizing world. It is important to me that I learn and engage with different cultural perspectives while traveling. I enjoy subjects such as world history, philosophy, culture, anthropology, sociology etc. I have been playing guitar for around eight years now, and would eventually like to produce an album... eventually.

    I studied in South Africa for an entire year, and spent my break traveling across the entire length of the country on a 110Cc scooter. (From Cape Town to Durban, up and around Lesotho). This trip has sparked my desire to be more nomadic and experience the world through a very raw and risky lens.

    Currently, I am an aspiring Auto-Mechanic and I love to learn about and work on cars. I work full time at an auto body and repair shop, and I have about a years worth of work experience doing intermediate level maintenance work such as engine tune ups, oil changes, transmission services, suspension repair, rust repair, technical diagnosis, and safety inspections. By the end of this month I will have my PA State Auto Inspection license. I have a 1996 Jeep Cherokee which I play around with and fix myself, as well as a 1968 Yamaha 2-stroke that I plan on traveling with. I envision myself driving a motor bike across Africa and Asia and fixing it myself. I've even considered a work-away position working in a car garage in Serbia, but I was too busy with classes here in the states.

    Now, after having worked at the same auto repair shop for a year, I’ve been getting antsy about leaving this environment which has been emotionally stressful for me. I would like to eventually homestead and become more self sustainable, and also want to travel and work on cars. I want to learn permaculture, building, carpentry, foraging, survival and defense, metal working, gardening, cooking, creating... you name it. I am a very interdisciplinary individual with a desire to coexist with Mother Earth and remove myself from capitalist society, rejecting the mass consumerism and non-consensual work-to-survive environment that I am expected to slave in. I’m ready to present my labor and skills to causes I am passionate about while meeting new people, learning new perspectives, and starting new beginnings.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Nature
    Camping
    Auto-stop
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Langues
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Livres
    Musique
    Photographie
    LGBT+
    Politique/justice sociale

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Teaching English
    Working with children
    Manual labor, building, gardening, etc
    Auto mechanics, body work, diagnosis, repair
    French
    Restaurant work, customer service
    Traveling long distances with little amenities
    Communication and compassion

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Âge

    23

  • Autres infos...

    I am interested in learning new skills and I am a very hard worker. I would like to participate in projects that will teach me new skills and I hope to be given the opportunity and the trust to try new things and develop new relationships.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback